Chainmaille Madness! My Most Ambitious Project EVER.


Chainmaille Madness!  My Most Ambitious Project EVER.

For once I’m actually reviewing my own product here, I’ve been spending a lot of time crafting and here’s the result.  It’s a completely hand-made chainmaille  top, made with pliers, patience and a fair amount of swearing.  Each bright aluminium link has been lovingly opened and closed and generally messed around with by me.  I’ve never made anything like this before, so this is my first attempt.  Whaddya think?  I finished it last night, took photos and bunged it on Folksy for sale so I’m, as they say, buzzing.  It would be quite useless in the face of battle, but it would be fantastic at a cocktail party or in a club, as long as there’s no-one shooting arrows at you at you.

Made from Bright Aluminium which is a surprisingly light metal, so this is comfortable to wear and won't weigh you down at all.

Made from Bright Aluminium which is a surprisingly light metal, so this is comfortable to wear and won’t weigh you down at all.

Made to my own design, so this is completely unique and a stand out piece.  The scales are made from bright aluminium too, so allt he materials match perfectly.

Made to my own design, so this is completely unique and a stand out piece. The scales are made from bright aluminium too, so the materials match perfectly.

Can be worn over a bra top, or over a camisole if you're feeling a little less extrovert.  Catches the light beautifully and drapes like a dream.

Can be worn over a bra top, or over a camisole if you’re feeling a little less extrovert. Catches the light beautifully and drapes like a dream.

Each diamond is reinforced with a 'Mobious' link, which is three rings intertwined for extra strength, and they look pretty too!

Each diamond is reinforced with a ‘Mobious’ link, which is three rings intertwined for extra strength, and they look pretty too!

Here's a close up of the weave, you can see the Mobious links more clearly here.   This will not rust by the way!  Can easily be cleaned with light detergent, warm water and a bit of a polish with a soft cloth.  No messing around with dry cleaning at all!

Here’s a close up of the weave, you can see the Mobious links more clearly here at the junction of the diamonds. This will not rust by the way! Can easily be cleaned with light detergent, warm water and a bit of a polish with a soft cloth. No messing around with dry cleaning at all!

I’m not used to this blowing my own trumpet sort of thing, but if I want to sell this, then I have to.  *blushes* Feel free to drop by my Folksy account if you’re interested or I have a ‘Bumbling Bee’ Facebook page if you prefer.  You’d be very welcome on either page and I do list other items too, which you may like.

I put a lot of time, effort and skill into my work and I’d love your feedback.  Please do drop by!  This top took me approximately a month of spending almost every available minute with a pair of pliers by the way.  You could call it knitting with metal I suppose.

Bumbling Bee Facebook page can be found HERE and my Folksy page is HERE.

I am open to negotiation by the way, especially if you mention that you discovered my work via this blog.  ;O)

Anyway, I hope you like my very new hobby, which is mostly just another really elaborate way to avoid doing the housework.  The Brink of Bedlam household looks like a bomb has dropped on it, but I do have a lovely top to show for it.

My mother does not approve and thinks I should clean the cooker rather than make chainmaille tops, but what the hell!

10 responses to “Chainmaille Madness! My Most Ambitious Project EVER.

  1. Wow! Absolutely stunning piece of work

  2. Ooooh! I like THAT! Very Game of Thrones (in the nicest possible way)!
    All the best 🙂

  3. Amazing I love it just wish I was slender and daring enough to wear something like that. Well done and hope it goes like the proverbial hotcakes

  4. I hope so too. That’s the plan anyway. It does look nice over a tank top too, so you don’t have to go around flashing your bra if you don’t want to. I know I’d not be brave enough to wear it like that, lol!

  5. That is amazing. So much work obviously went into that. Well done. I hope you sell it. So talented

  6. Hi Kay, hope you and the family are well : ) it’s been ages since I saw you! Just wanted to sat I think this is amazing!! You are very talented. Lots live Heidi xx

  7. Hey,

    My name is Alec from Designerintimates.com.

    I came across your site brinkofbedlam.co.uk when searching for the top lingerie and fashion bloggers for our partnership program. I particularly like your last post, it was spot on!

    Due to the content you are already sharing with your followers, I think we would be an excellent fit for each other and I am contacting you to find out whether you would also be willing to promote our brands on your site.

    Just to break it down;

    Designer Intimates is a new e-commerce store of highly successful and established lingerie brands Felina, Paramour and Jezebel.

    We receive on average an order size of between $60-70. We normally pay a Base rate of 7% in commission for every sale our partners make through their site, but I would be willing to increase yours to a Better rate of 15% for the next 90 days.

    I am confident you’d make a great promotional partner because Designer Intimates will be a great compliment to all the great advice and guidance you’re already providing in your blog.

    If this is something that may interest you, please contact me through this email address affiliates@designerintimates.com to learn more about our partnership.

    Thank you for your time and any consideration you may give us.
    I am really looking forward to hearing from you

    Best regards,

    Alec/Affiliate Manager,

    affiliates@designerintimates.com

    http://www.designerintimates.com

Leave a Reply

