Holiday Plans


Holiday Plans.

The summer holidays are looming on the near horizon and I’m frankly bricking it.  Six weeks is a long time to fill and my kids are active little munchkins.  In addition to this I can’t drive so getting places for days out is a nightmare, or at least a huge challenge which usually involves a massive rucksack, public transport and a lot of patience. Hey ho, at least we have a week away to look forward to.

I wrote a post a while ago about how difficult it is to find a sensibly priced holiday for a family over the summer break, and after a lot of umming and aahing, we have decided to borrow my husband’s, gran’s caravan for a week.  It is actually in quite a local location so we won’t have to travel so far and there’s a playground there and a river for them to play in if the weather is good enough.  I can’t wait!  I just hope against hope that it doesn’t rain.  I know rain is necessary for plants to grow, that it fills reservoirs and that it sounds quite nice pattering on a caravan roof…..but it’s wet, that’s the huge drawback.  Soggy coats, muddy shoes and cabin fever is not pleasant.  Anyway, I’m hoping for a heatwave – ever the optimist!

I'm hoping for lazy days by the river, fishing for tiddlers and finding water worn fossils.

I’m hoping for lazy days by the river, fishing for tiddlers and finding water worn fossils.

We’d consider camping, but after a particularly disastrous week’s holiday in Scotland a few years ago, I’d rather stick pins in my eyes than go under canvas again.  I have vivid memories of packing and going home early, the highlight of which was lying flat on my face like a steam rollered starfish, desperately trying to brush away the torrents of rainwater running all over the tent which made it incredibly heavy and impossible to pack up.  This is whilst the wind howled and the rain persisted it down – to put it politely.  I wasn’t polite at the time, I think I was probably swearing.  Bad mum.

Typical camping garb and weather.  Never, ever, ever again!

Typical camping garb and weather. Never, ever, ever again!

So, back to what I was saying, a caravan, in the sunshine, by a river, that’ll do nicely fank oo!  I’d love to go on one of these Center Parc breaks, or maybe one of those working farm holidays, but I’d have to go rob a bank or compare credit cards with a richer friend than me and see if they have more credit spare, and then smile sweetly at them and ask for their pin number.  Not gonna happen, I suspect that wouldn’t make me very popular with my friends either.  I have actually considered trading in ye olde bank debit card and looking for the best reward credit card so we could afford a little more, that would give us more spare cash, but I think we’ll just have a cosy holiday in a caravan instead and make do with what we have.  Who needs a working farm holiday when the kids bring in ‘cute earwigs’ and slugs on their shoes, I suspect we’ll have all the animals and wildlife we can cope with anyway.

A particularly fine example of a caravan made the kids.  Thankfully we will be staying in a slightly larger version of this.

A particularly fine example of a caravan made the kids. Thankfully we will be staying in a slightly larger version of this.

So there we have it, a conclusion to the ‘Where the hell are we going to take the kids this year?’ conundrum.  The thing is, we could spend a fortune and still have a crappy time or vice versa.  It’s about making the best of it.  As long we can laugh (maybe half hysterically) at the weather, go for days out, spend quality time together, it’ll be fun.   Yay for making happy summer holiday memories. :O)

 

Leave a Reply

