Where Did All The Penguins Go?


Where Did All The Penguins Go?

Post Pals - Putting a Smile on Childrens Faces

You may have wondered about how the Penguin Amnesty and how it all worked out.  When all’s said and done, I posted out approximately 6o donations of penguins and penguin merchandise to poorly kids and with the help of Parcels For Delivery and their wonderful Round Up Your Pound campaign, we raised £852.19…..£100 of which was donated by them as part of their annual Christmas donation.

You'll just have to imagine muffled penguin squarking that was going on at that point. They were so excited about going to their new homes!

You’ll just have to imagine muffled penguin squarking that was going on at that point. They were so excited about going to their new homes!

Here is a link to their page which outlines how Parcels for Delivery supported the Penguin Amnesty.  They are simply amazing and if you’re ever going to post a parcel, they’re the company to post it with!  Love ’em!

And…if you’d like a nosey at the penguins people kindly donated, and the mischief they got up to, have a look HERE! 

This penguin would like to say thank you for all your donations, unfortunately he's drunk so he can't string a sentence together so I'm saying thank you on his behalf..

This penguin would like to say thank you for all your donations, unfortunately he’s drunk so he can’t string a sentence together so I’m saying thank you on his behalf.

It was one of the strangest, most successful charity blogging projects I’ve ever been involved with and it seriously restored my faith in people and their capacity for selfless giving.  Thank you so much.  I still have some penguin prizes to send out, and although they are terribly, awfully late (in typical me stylee) they will be posted at some point.  I have not forgotten.

To say thank you, I’d like to run a competition, my good friend Jo (@humanb3an) donated a penguin costume which you can see here:

Does my bum look big in this?

Does my bum look big in this?

It is a grown up size penguin costume so I couldn’t send it to any of the children so the plan was to use it for publicity purposes only.  With that in mind, if you would like to own your very fabulous penguin outfit, please simply comment on the blog to say that you will visit the Post Pals page and at the very least think about sending something to a PostPals kid.  That’s all you have to do.    I’ve decided to post out a brand new penguin outfit directly from Amazon to the winner who will be chosen on the 1st June.  Here’s a link to the prize!  Don’t you think this would be fabulous for Halloween (you could be a zombie penguin or something) or for a kid’s party?

Please do enter the competition and show your support for the fabulous work that PostPals do.  Thanks a million, billion, trillion to the myriad of businesses that donated to this project.  You should all be very proud of what you helped to achieve.  Thank you.  Hugs, squeezes and penguin kisses, Kay :O) xxxxx

57 responses to “Where Did All The Penguins Go?

  1. I can’t see me wearing this costume but I had to comment anyway! What you have done is amazing and everyone has been so fantastic in helping you, especially the parcel comapany, i’ll checking them out for sure. I’m actually posting a gift off to a little girl this month as part of my Year in Gifts’ thing i’ve got going on this year. I hope it makes her happy. I forgot to ask, I know I won something from you but I have no idea if you posted it. I sent you the wrong house number (idiot) xx

  2. You did win something from me and I do need to post it to you. It is in a box somewhere in my goddam black hole of a house. I think the wine glass charms and the keyrings got stuck in a cardboard box which may have been stuck in the attic, can’t find them :O( My gran died and I got a ton of her things sent over in boxes and I think they got mixed up with them. I will find them though and when I do, I will post them to you. This is why I’ve chosen the penguin outfit from Amazon, I can send it directly out and there’s no chance of it getting mislaid. The Year in Gifts thing sounds lovely, is it a blog project? Must bob over your way to see how you’re doing by the way, hope all is well. xxx

  3. All, each and every single penguin donation was safely posted on though, I hand on heart promise! It was just those darn wine charms that got lost in our attic, this is why I will think very hard before attempting another project like this, it was really, really hard to co-ordinate and that was the one bit that did not go to plan. I WILL find them though, and I WILL post them. I am a woman of my word. Promise.

  4. Hi Kay, thanks for the mention, we appreciate it.
    It’s been great working with you and to keep in touch – YOU are amazing, as is Post Pals and we’ll take every opportunity to continue to highlight the amazing work they do. Such a great cause and such a massive commitment from you. You go, girl!
    Nat
    P4D

  5. Hi Kay, thanks for the mention, we appreciate it.
    It’s been great working with you and to keep in touch – YOU are amazing, as is Post Pals and we’ll take every opportunity to continue to highlight the amazing work they do. Such a great cause and such a massive commitment from you. You go, girl!
    Nat
    P4D

  6. layla fletcher

    OMG this is the best prize in the world, I love penguins, infact some would say im obsessed, I even spent my birthday at London Zoo and had a meet and greet with them, Off to check out Post Pals now

  7. Hannah Oneill

    I will visit

  8. Love it! I might even wear it to
    Work of I won it! Give me happy feet in the post office lol

  9. Got to enter as this has to be the best competition prize ever! I have so enjoyed reading your penguin updates and you have done a wonderful thing for the PP children. love from Clare (Post Pals Dottie) xxx

  10. Judith (from Israel)

    I couldn’t imagine ever going to the post office to post or collect mail without also sending something to a Post Pals kid.

  11. think I’d wear to work on a fancy dress day

  12. great competition had to enter

  13. I had never heard of Postpals before, but after visiting the site, I will definitely get involved. As for the penguin costume, it would be great for fancy dress parties, but I would wear it anyway just to see the look on my friends’ faces!

  14. Kathy Cakebread

    such a awesome thing to do!

  15. anonymousalto

    Post pals are great, I love sending out post. If I won the penguin costume it might come in handy on world book day at the school where I work – there’s got to be a book with a penguin character in it… lol

  16. I had never heard of Postpals previously, but having visited the site, I will definitely get involved, is something my children are keen to contribute to also.

  17. I’d make a great penguin

  18. great competition 🙂 love penguins
    well done on getting the word out for a great cause 🙂

  19. I’ll go to the Postpals site immediately – this is such a good idea! I would love to win the penguin suit.

  20. Thanks for your kindness, I’ll have a look now. My little brother is obsessed with penguins, so I’d love to win this to see the look on his face.

  21. Becky Rideout

    Fantastic! I think I’d wear it when I go back to work. I’m off on crutches at the moment and would love to see their faces if I came back wearing it!!!

  22. i think the company is one of the best and as for the penguin costume I have a costume party coming up in summer and this would be perfect!

  23. An excellent piece and a fantastic comment, off to have a look at the page now!

  24. Andrea Johnson

    What an awesome campaign you had, penguins are fabulous and never fail to make me smile 🙂

  25. An excellent outfit for fancy dress

  26. It’s cold enough for penguins here today! heading over to postpals.

  27. I sponsor a Penguin at the Sealife Centre… hoped I’d win so we could get to know each other, species to species… If I win, watch out for a story about a man arrested for impersonating a Penguin at the SeaLife Centre in Scarborough 😀

  28. How cool would Granny be in this costume at the kids birthday parties lol 🙂

  29. Jennifer Toal

    My partner says I never shut up and sound like ping so this would be the perfect prize 😉

  30. eddie britton

    I need this outfit! AMAZING!

  31. elaine stokes

    god the kids would think that i have finally flipped !!!!!!!!

  32. awe finally a costume no one iin my area has i would even wear it on a night out, fatastic campaign really interesting

  33. great competition

  34. I stumbled across this post and just had to comment and enter. I love penguins so much – I was married in a colony of penguins and they were the only guests at my wedding! I would absolutely love a costume! I have a lot of cuddly penguins but have never had a costume – It is my anniversary soon so would be a great laugh! On a serious note – Many congratulations for all you raised! What an excellent cause and fab support. Off to Postpals now to have a look. Thanks again

  35. What a great cause, I will definitely look into it

  36. I will visit the Post Pals page and at the very least think about sending something to a PostPals kid

  37. This is such a great outfit. I would wear it for world book day at school when teachers have to dress up. The children will think its hilarious!

  38. what a fab thing to do! and love the oenguin outfit!

  39. An excellent outfit for fancy dress

  40. Christina Jarrett

    Brilliant competition! I love penguins, and PostPals is such a great thing! I will definitely visit their site, thank you! x

  41. Lucy Dorrington

    This is a brilliant project. As my daughter is penguin mad and loves nothing more than seeking out and buying more of the beady-eyed little critters, this is right up her street and will give her a worthwhile excuse to go penguin shopping (again!) xx

  42. rachael jones

    i have checked out postpals several times , i have a friend Lisa who i know has sent things before and told me about it all and what a fab job you all do ! Will deffinately look at the possiblity of sending some post in the near future ! …… my son is obsessed with penguins and would love it if Mrs Penguin collected him from school one day !! hehehe !!

  43. Elisabeth Barnwell

    I LOVE PENGUINS AND WOULD LIKE TO WIND MY CHILDREN UP WEARING IT

  44. claire little

    what a wonderful thing to do and also love penguins 🙂 popping over to postpals x

  45. Brilliant work, penquins are wonderful x

  46. penguins even x

  47. How brilliant is this for the kids. And maybe the adults too!!

  48. would love to win this 🙂

  49. Love the costume

  50. Frances Haslam

    This would be brilliant for my hen do!

  51. jayne fotheringham

    what a great costume! would be great for halloween! heading to postpals now 🙂

  52. just been checking our post pals, such an amazing idea and really enjoyed the penguin gallery 🙂

  53. Great prize to accompany a friend who plays Santa at Birmingham Children’s hospital, should raise a smile or two

  54. Stacey Wardle

    Just looking at the postpals page now, great cause 🙂

  55. Susan Willshee

    I will definitely visit the page, loved your penguin charity blogging project – something unique to make people smile, not the usual ‘please sponsor me’ stuff. I’m off to look at the postpals page now!

  56. victoria thurgood

    Great prize and a great cause im going have a good read up on this as its new to me.

  57. Daniel Osgood

    Amazing thing to do, you are an inspiration, do not stop all this fabulous work, you are making a difference to many peoples lives 😀

Leave a Reply

