K & Co


Summer Style

Well, spring sprang and then it boinged back into autumn again I think.  Shucks.  After a couple of days of blazing sunshine I’m now sat in my living room staring out the window at a rain soaked street and grey skies again.  Boo, hiss, bah humbug and  other sulking noises. Ah well, maybe things will improve soon.  In the meantime I’m going to keep my hopes up.  We’re planning on spending a week in a caravan over the summer hols and perhaps thinking about preparations for that will cheer me up a little?

Both kids spent most of last year wearing jeans, jumpers, thick (odd) socks, raincoats, wellies and warm clothing.  Perhaps this year will be different?  With that in mind I’ve been browsing K & Co and their spring and summer offerings.  Maybe I’ll do a bit of home shopping and get them kitted out.  Maybe I’ll even be able to persuade Darlek to wear a dress!  If I could persuade her to wear one, I think this would be it.

Darlek is a bit of a tom-boy so frills and flounces aren't her thing at all.  I think this might suit her, I love the bright colours and the striking design.

Darlek is a bit of a tom-boy so frills and flounces aren’t her thing at all. I think this might suit her, I love the bright colours and the striking design.

I can picture us all sat around a lit BBQ on a balmy summer’s evening, swatting midges and soaking up the evening sun.  Darlek nearly always wears trainers, but if she was wearing this, she’d need sandals.  Soooo…..

They're called yellow 'Lolly Stud' girls sandals.  I'd prefer to call them 'Buttercup Sparkly's'.  But that's because I'm a hippy on the sly.

They’re called yellow ‘Lolly Stud’ girls sandals. I’d prefer to call them ‘Buttercup Sparkly’s’. But that’s because I’m a closet hippy.

That outfit, including the sandals, would cost us £28 ( I think…my maths is terrible) which is actually not that bad.  I have to admit I’ve never shopped with this company before, but after a quick browse of their pages I am actually tempted.

And now for Sausage’s summer kit.   He’s never really shown an interest in clothes so this should be easy.  Darlek has a mind of her own and will happily point blank refuse to wear anything she dislikes, but her brother is a lot easier going when it comes to fashion.  Which isn’t a surprise really, he is only 5 and prefers to spend his time thinking about Star Wars and what’s for tea. His cousin makes me laugh, he’s 6 and has already started combining long and short sleeved T’shirts so they colour co-ordinate and loves to wear shirts that show off T’shirts underneath.  I’m afraid my son seems to be following in my footsteps, we wear the first thing that falls out of the cupboard in the morning.

(Why oh why am I writing a blog post about fashion?!!!!   I’m trying so hard to sound cool and like I know what I’m on about, but I really don’t.  What are jeggings, why doesn’t red go with green, why can’t I wear my onesie on the school run, what’s wrong with jumpers with pictures of cats on? etc. etc. etc.)

Anyway *puts serious face on*.  Fashion. Boys.  Erm… Right if i could find the perfect smart, casual summer outfit for my lad I think I’d go for this ensemble.

Practical eh?  He would ADORE this.

Practical eh? He would ADORE this.  £18 and you could have your very own pirate child too!

As for footwear: if we were at the caravan there would be lots of grass around and he would probably take off his shoes and run around in his socks so they’d be pointless.  Either that or he’d pretend to have a wooden leg, hop around, lose one shoe forever in the long grass and I’d get annoyed.  So, barefoot or socked feet it is. Hope there’s not many nettles around this year.

BRING ON THE SUNSHINE, THE BBQ’S, THE SUNCREAM, THE ICE-CREAMS, THE SHORTS, THE DRESSES, THE erm…PIRATE OUTFITS!  Come on May, don’t fail us now.  We’ve had a hint of what summer could be like over the last few days and we want more!

This is a collaborative post with K&Co, although all meanderings and piratey comments are my own.   Piratey is a real word, I know that because I just typed it.

3 responses to “K & Co

  1. I don’t dress my girls in girly stuff but I do love the button dress.Here’s to Summer! Hopefully.

  2. I’ve not seen K&Co before either, so have had a good mooch about! It was that button dress that drew me in, too 🙂

  3. Sometimes I get so frustrated with pastilles and floaty outfits and ‘feminine’ clothing for girls. So many of the trousers and jeans these days are narrow fitted and she just finds them uncomfortable. Most of the time she ends up wearing boys jeans and I don’t blame her. Mind you, I’ve never really been a fashion diva myself! Thanks for the comments and for reading :O)

Leave a Reply

