The Bedding Company – A Very Snuggly Duvet Review


The Bedding Company

A Very Snuggly Duvet Review

the-bedding-company

The Bedding Company very kindly sent me a ‘Silentnight Natural White Duck Feather Duvet, 10.5 tog King Size’ last week.  Their timing is simply perfect!   This winter has been a bit nippy to put it mildly.

Here’s the duvet on their website. 10.5 tog of feathery snuggliness:

Feeling sleepy yet?

Feeling sleepy yet?

The duvet arrived in a handy bag so you could easily buy something like this as a wedding present or a gift for someone who lives in a very cold house (namely us).

This is about the size of a very large pillow when it arrives. I'm reliably informed that hippos really love Silent Night bedding.

This is about the size of a very large pillow when it arrives. I’m reliably informed that hippos really love Silent Night bedding.  I would love to see this claim tried and tested.

When I unzipped the bag and hauled the duvet out I have to say I was a little surprised.  I knew it was 10.5 tog, but I thought it would be thicker.  If you squish the duvet between your hands on both sides you can feel your hands touching through the cotton material.   You see I’ve never had a feather duvet before,  I didn’t really know what to expect.

I soon realised that it feels thinner because the air, and therefore the warmth, nestles in the air pockets between the fluffed up feathers.  It doesn’t need layer upon layer of man-made fibres so the duvet does feel much lighter.

Sausage tried on the duvet for size:

A duvet doubles as a den.  I had great trouble persuading Sausage to let me have the duvet back so I could put it on the bed.

A king size duvet doubles as a den. I had great trouble persuading Sausage to let me have the duvet back so I could put it on the bed.

Call me over the top if you like, but one of the first things I did was to check the stitching.  I hate shoddy stitching and loose untidy ends.  The stitching and manufacturing quality looked perfect on this product, it’s double stitched to ‘keep the filling evenly distributed and to help prevent cold spots.’

The feathers are nicely held in place with perfectly sewn stitches so you don't have to worry about them all migrating to one end of the duvet.  10/10 for attention to detail.

The feathers are nicely held in place with double sewn stitches so you don’t have to worry about them all migrating to one end of the duvet. 10/10 for attention to detail.

Here is our freshly made bed!  I bought a new duvet cover because I couldn’t bear to put our old covers on our posh feathery duvet.  Looks cosy doesn’t it.  In fact just looking at this picture makes me want to curl up like a sleepy kitten and dream of hippos in stripy pyjamas until sunrise. In fact I might just abandon this blog post now and go nap…….

Oh, but no!  I’ve started so I’ll finish.

The colour scheme may not be to everyone's taste, but I love bright jewel colours and it's our bed so ner!  This is maybe why I don't focus on home decor so much...

The colour scheme may not be to everyone’s taste, but I love bright jewel colours and it’s our bed so ner! This is maybe why I don’t focus on home decor so much…  I’m saying nothing about the carpet, we were given it when we moved in.

There is something else about the duvet which I suppose I should mention.  I don’t know if it’s a plus or a minus.  Personally I think it’s a plus.  It rustles!  There’s a ton of feathers in there so I shouldn’t be surprised really.  It’s just something I’ve never noticed with any other duvets.  I love it because it makes the duvet seem all the more luxurious.

Our bedroom is right up in the attic, and it is freeeeeezing in winter sometimes, so I’m very grateful to the Bedding Company for this gorgeous duvet.  You have saved us from frozen toes!

Now you know why  you never see ducks shivering in winter.  Evolution gave them feathers instead of little duck shaped sleeping bag coats for a reason.  1) Because they’d sink  2) Because feathers are much warmer.  Think on!

If you would like your own snug-as-a-bug-in-a-duck-feather-duvet you can find them HERE for £48 (King size) on The Bedding Company website.    The cover is super-soft and 100% cotton and it is machine washable, which always helps.

The Bedding Company sent me a Duck Feather 10.5 Duvet to review, no other financial reward was given.

2 responses to “The Bedding Company – A Very Snuggly Duvet Review

  1. I am funny I hate a heavy quilt and even in the winter onky use a 4.5 tog cos of the bulk of a normal quilt. Too scared to spend that amount of money for allergy reasons, would be a shame to find I could not use it.
    Love the sparkly dangly bit over the bed

  2. Good review. We have th same heavy, 14 tog quilt all year round. Winter its nice and cosy, summer, its like some sort of oven designed to make you melt or shrink.

Leave a Reply

