Getting off the Christmas Merry-Go-Round


Getting off the Christmas

Merry-Go-Round

That’s what it feels like.  Christmas is over, New year looms.  It’s all been a bit spinny with wrapping presents, decorating trees, (not) sending Christmas cards (sorry!) and elaborately made up stories about Father Christmas.  ‘He goes so fast you can’t see him!’ ‘The reindeer squeezes in under the kitchen door to get at the carrot’…..etc etc.

All I can say is ‘Phew!’  Next year will be more organised and panic and spew free. It will be nice.  Now all we have to deal with is the fall out from the Xmas period.  I realised things were getting dire this evening when we ordered yet another takeaway, and when I was drinking out of a soda stream bottle and Horace had a tipple in a massive black plastic camping mug because nothing else was clean.

Note the odd socks.  We were there two days, I did not bring spare socks.  Bad me.

Note the odd socks. We were at my In-Laws for two days, I did not bring spare socks. Bad me.  Domestic goddess fail. Buggerit.

I washed up.  I wilted inwardly and longed for plastic cutlery I could just bung in the bin.  Guilt overtook me.   I don’t like guilt, it chases me when I need to do things.  I should not be resenting tidying up, it simply means we had an exceptionally good time….or something.  Maybe not.  The bits spent outside of the house have been fun I suppose.  Horace’s parents were absolute angels and fed and watered and looked after us for two days, for which I am very grateful.  And what did I offer in return?  I finished the sherry trifle off.  I am a good daughter in law.  Oh yes.  That’s the guilt kicking in again…  Next year we will make up for all the sodding moaning and ‘Where’s the Calpol?’ and ‘Oops sorry, we forgot to bring pyjamas for the kids, and nappies, and changes of pants….’

I got a Zit for Christmas.  Fab.  This was me after about 2 hours of sleep on Xmas Eve.  Scary stuff.

I got a Zit for Christmas. Fab. This was me after about 2 hours of sleep on Xmas Eve. Scary stuff.

Horace and his ‘I’ve just had a shower and got into my new fresh clothes that I’ve been wearing for the last three days’ nearly killed me.  I did not pack when we left the house to go visit my In-Laws.  I merely abandoned ship.  T’is different.

So, back to the blog title.  I’m going to bed now.  My cough has got a bit worse and I’m loving the fairground side-effects.  If I turn my head suddenly, I get this ‘Wooooooh!’ spinny feeling and then the world goes a bit jellyish.  It’d be brilliant if I was drunk, but unfortunately not.  I’m just germ infested.  So, it’s good night from me and goodnight from The Germs.  *staggers off to bed*

Leave a Reply

