I Hate Choosing Blog Post Titles.


I Hate Choosing Blog Post Titles.

(and an update on the Penguins!)

I just do, so today I’m skiving.  Today’s blog post title is a cop out.  So….

The summer hols are ending, Darlek is back in school already and Sausage starts his first term at primary school next wednesday.  All I can say is ‘Phew!’.  I love my kids, I really, really do – but I need some space and some semblance of routine in my life.  There’s no doubt about it, I’ll miss them, but any more than 6 weeks of hols and I’d be sectioned.

Over the last six weeks I’ve tried very hard to do my best for my two little monkeys, we’ve been to Brockholes in the Lake District, went out and got soaked in a rowing boat in a rainstorm and Darlek went in one of those strange massive see through bubbles that bob around on the surface of a big pool.  No I’m not going nuts, basically they’re like hamster balls for kids that go on water, google them if you like.  She loved it and scrambled around and giggled lots.  Sausage stood at the side in absolute amazement and refused to get in one, which was a blessing in disguise really as it was a fiver a go.  It was a lovely day out , we all cheated at Crazy Golf and both kids went AWOL at the adventure playground.  I’d definitely recommend the place and no, this is not a sponsored post thingy either.

We also went to Wavelengths which is a swimming pool near us with a wave pool, slides and tiny waterfalls, very pretty!  Sis and I decided to go and take her nephews and my two.  In typical Kay fashion, I arrived only to discover I’d forgotten half of my two piece swimming costume.  Rather than go topless and be arrested for looking like a minger, I sat at the side and read the only bit of literature I could find.  I got half way through some indepth leaflet about the state of British Breweries and Camra beers brewed by big hairy blokes in Scotland or summat, and then fell asleep on the plastic table in front of me.  Sis had to cope with all the kids on her own and was an  star.  I felt an absolute idiot.  It didn’t help that even before setting off I was completely unable to find my wallet and she had to pay for me and my brood.  Some days eh!

What else have we done?  You know, it’s quite scary, I can barely remember.  The last six weeks have just gone whoosh and my head is now full of school uniforms, school runs, pending judo lessons, labelling coats and soggy school runs.  I guess I’m looking forwards rather than backwards, which is good as I’ve not had a great time of it recently.  In fact you could say I’ve had a bigger wobbly do than ever before.  Due to the pressures of renovating the house over the road, not sleeping, colitis, finding a job, being made redundant, active kids, a close family bereavement, I’ve just nose-dived. But, I feel happier now.  Which is nice. How many times have I come out with that old chestnut!

I do have some great news though! The penguin project has been so delayed due to everything, but the vlog will hopefully be done next week when the kids are in school and I have time.  If it kills me I will film the damn thing!  If the penguins don’t eat me first that is, we’re running short on tins of tuna you see….

Here’s a ‘teaser’ photograph of the penguin vlog. Half of it has been done, just the other half to do now. The divas amongst them have demanded their very own private caravans and sparkling salmon champagne.  I think some of them are a little star struck myself….

And…….this is the really good bit……Parcels 4 Delivery are seriously considering PostPals as their nominated charity for November and December along with my Penguin Project.  That means after I’ve done this PenguinAmnesty vlog, the campaign can continue, although in a different format (still to iron out the details).  How good is that!  Obviously this isn’t absolutely for definite yet, but it’s looking very very hopeful.  Call me a do-gooder if you like, but it’s nice to do something constructive and Post Pals are such a lovely charity.

Here’s a little video about what Post Pals do.   It’s easy to sit and watch these sort of videos and feel helpless, you might think, what can I possibly do to help these poor kids who go through so much hardship in their short lives?  Surely it’s hopeless?  Personally I know we all struggle to pay for our own kid’s Christmas presents, birthday presents, school uniforms and what not.  But, I say ‘Bogey-pants!’ to inaction (my son says that phrase all the time and it make me laugh). We can cheer them up simply by sending post,  it can literally cost the price of a stamp.  Little acts of kindness can make all the difference.

I have a number of much delayed reviews pending, one for the blummin’ brilliant BaloonBaboon, Orchard Toys, Vapestick and others.  I also still have some penguins to add to the gallery, InkyPrints that means you! (not forgotten!) I guess there’s marvellous mummy bloggers, businessy mumpreneurs, yummy mummy glammy bloggers and then there’s moi – a bumbling mumsy blogger. Huge apologies to anyone who is sat tapping their toes thinking they’ve just sent a load of merchandise to a hypercondriac with a penguin obsession.  Nope, not quite.  I’ve just bumbled a lot over the summer hols, have taken too much on and my colitis has quite literally been a huge pain in the arse.  But, with my youngest starting school I can finally see everything getting back to normal and I shall return to my bloggin’ tweetin’ writin’ reading’ social networkin’ self. I can’t wait!

3 responses to “I Hate Choosing Blog Post Titles.

  1. Do-gooder 😛 (you said to call you it)

    On a serious note, it’s an amazing thing you have done – *fingers crossed* for them being a nominated charity of the month with Parcels 4 Delivery, it’s been amazing and inspiring watching your penguin amnesty!

    x

  2. well we did learn the title needs to grab the reader, bring them in, and make it seem interesting. well I read this post, and it was very interesting. Your not wonder woman so dont try to be, you do marvellous

  3. That is seriously good news about post pals, fingers crossed 🙂 and well done you. Looking forward to seeing you back in action (and now you have me wondering what sort of mummy blogger I am! LOL )

Leave a Reply

