The Penguin Amnesty Gallery Part 2!


The Penguin Amnesty

Gallery Part 2!

I just cannot believe how successful this blog review campaign has been!  Thanks to Appliances Online and their fabulous fridge freezer for their inspiration and thanks to everyone who has donated so far!

Spot the Penguin! I’ll be doing a straight review (without penguins) later this week. The penguin vlog will follow shortly afterwards so if you want your penguin featured, be quick!

All these penguins just keep on flip-flopping and slippery-sliding their way over here!  It’s wonderful to see just how generous people are and how thoughtful they are too.  I’ve run out of room on the first The Penguin Amnesty Gallery so I’ve had to start a separate post.  If you’d like to view the first gallery, please do waddle your merry way over there and have a nosey (or a beaky) at how many there are now, and see how they’re settling into their temporary home before they’re posted on to the Post Pals charity. I must say I still can’t get into the bath, or use the sink because of Peter and his mates, I must remember to try and tempt them out of there with tins of salmon or something. The first Penguin Amnesty gallery is HERE  There are penguins playing footie, directing cars, playing in the bath, flower arranging….

Anyway!  Here’s more penguin pics!  I bet you can smell the fish from here!  Phoooey!  Hold your nose if it all gets a bit much.

You’ve heard of that old favourite ‘Chicken-in-a-Basket?’ Well here’s ‘Penguins-in-a-Basket!’ We shan’t be eating these though. That would be wrong, wrong, wrong!

Pinky and Perky, the knitted penguins, were sent by Elaine Kidd; she very kindly sent two of them in case one of them got lonely.  They have made friends with Percival in the middle who was donated by Margaret and Anna.  They are getting on quite swimmingly, perhaps too swimmingly…  They’re all bathroom pests!  Somebody save me from a fate worse than stinky!

Top That Publishing sent some gorgeous Penguin themed children’s books, they are so cute and will be very much loved by the Post Pals children.  Here they are!

Mummy Barrow from the Mummy Barrow blog sent gorgeous little penguin book about being brave, and some chocolate ducks which look like penguins if you stare at them at the right angle and imagine that they’re black and white.

I thought this book was particularly appropriate for Post Pals.

The Prezzy Box have donated a Penguin Adoption pack for a little penguin fan.  Many thanks to them for being joining in with the Penguin Amnesty!

Imagine having your very own adopted penguin! Some little girl or boy will love having a penguin in the family!

And finally (for this update at least) – this is my favourite photo of the evening.  I have put a penguin in space!  Douglas Adams didn’t feature many penguins in the Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, so I’ve remedied that.  The universe needs more penguins in space.  I think they’d like it.  Patrick the Penguin does anyway.

See, he lurves it! He’s floating around in space exactly the same way a brick doesn’t.

Over the last week I’ve had a ton of penguins arrive on the doorstep looking lost and bewildered.  I think they were a tad worried about where they’d ended up.  One in particular, sent by Liz Burton from the Me and My Shadow blog and Vita from The Goriami Family blog, was in a parcel that said ‘To the Penguin Catcher!’  Let me tell you, she was one nervous penguin!  Poor thing thought we were going to cook her!  She calmed down eventually after some reassurance and a tin of tuna at least.  Here she is!

‘Pimelda’ likes shoes! In the morning I get up, I put my socks on, I dash around looking for footwear, and what do I find?!! A penguin snoozing in my pumps! They’re a damn nuisance I tell you!  Nearly trod on this one the other day.

Next we have Persphone!  She likes to give out the orders around here, and it’s not just the penguins she harasses either.  Look at this!

Yes we have a plush moose head on the wall! Persephone the Penguin is very perplexed by this, and thinks that it this is simply a moose that has run into the wall too fast and that the rest of its body is stuck next door. She doesn’t ‘Nook-Nook!’ or ‘Sqwark!’ she sits on top of the poor thing and shouts ‘Back up a bit!’ and ‘Reverse NOW!’ all the time. The moose refuses to move and she’s just stuck up there on her pointless penguin mission.  Poor love, she has the best of intentions I’m sure.

Many thanks to Dylan Ward and his mum for sending this very determined, (even if slightly misguided) penguin.  Please do have a look at his website called Dylans Wonders, this lad really is crazy about penguins and has a heart of gold  too, he’s literally raised thousands for charity and is an inspiration really.

Who in their right mind teaches penguins how to play the keyboard! Elaine, I’m not happy you know. 3am, I’m just dropping off to sleep……and then they’re off again playing ‘Tiddle-Om-Pom-Pom’ and shouting ‘Fish!!!’ in the scale of C. Driving us potty they are! Night after night! I thought the kids were bad, but they’re nothing compared to Pyche and Pugsley.

Elaine from the Fun-As-A-Gran blog sent these two, and I wish she’d not trained them ‘musically’ before she sent them over.  Couldn’t you have trained them to wash up or make dinner or do something useful!  For goodness sake! *rolls eyes*

Liz Burton also sent a very cute penguin book, a penguin bookmark and a Happy Feet Two DVD! Thank you!

This penguin calls himself Romeo, he’s a little charmer. The rose was nicked from our garden after one of his moonlit waddles, I think he’s after Persephone to be honest, he keeps grabbing the rose in his beak and waving it at her. So romantic!

Zoe Toornent sent us Romeo, and the two other penguins shown below.  Thanks Zoe!  We love them and a PostPals child will love them too!

Petrone and Pentacle felt a scared (I’ll tell you why in a minute) so they found Snowy the Polar Bear to take care of them. He’s says he’ll teach them to ice-skate but they’re not keen on being seen at the ice-rink with a Polar bear in a dress.

If you’re of a sensitive disposition you might want to skip this next photo.  Although the majority of the penguins are very good natured, we have had ‘incidents’ such as this:

These three ganged up on poor Parnassus and shouted ‘Put yer flippers up! They said he had a daft name and threatened him with a Star Trek gun, luckily it was only set to ‘Stun’ so he was unhurt although rather shaken. Penguin gang warefare is a new phenomenon here and we are considering involving the Penguin Police. This is why the others found it necessary to find a Polar Bear bodyguard for safety, even if he is wearing a tutu.

To be absolutely honest, I think I’ve reached the point where I have an elegant sufficiency of penguins (and I want my bathroom back!) – but if you have already arranged to send a penguin, please feel free to!  I just have to be careful not to overstretch myself, as these do all have to be posted on to Post Pals by me.  With that in mind, if you haven’t been able to find a penguin to send, please consider donating towards postage, it would help a lot.  I have a couple of lovely couriers who have expressed an interest in this project, but I haven’t been able to arrange anything solid or costs or anything just yet as I have an unknown quantity of penguins so far to transport.

If you’d like to have a look at the Penguin Amnesty Gallery Part 1 to see what the other penguins have been up to, please click HERE!

Also, if you’ve sent me a penguin and they haven’t been featured, please do let me know!  The Royal Whale / Royal Mail I should say (I’ve got fish on the brain) isn’t always quite as reliable as it should be sometimes, although they’ve done me proud so far I think.

I’m hoping to do the Penguin Amnesty vlog next weekend and am praying for snow rather than rain as it would be soooo much more appropriate and it would be a nice change to drizzle to be honest.

Anyone who donates penguins or postage will be credited for their kindness on here, and the penguins, Post Pals and I will love ya forever too!  Can’t beat that!
Post Pals - Putting a Smile on Childrens Faces

4 responses to “The Penguin Amnesty Gallery Part 2!

  1. wow Kay you have done brilliantly, so many companies be so generous.

  2. Just brilliant! Such a fun project and so worthwhile!

  3. What a fabulous project and well done you!

  4. can I just say the musical talent runs in the family and I taught them to play the keyboard, sounds fine to me, but then Im tone deaf so it would do, sorry I did ask them to behave in somebody elses home to a manner they had been brought up. They never washed dished here as my husband does all that.

Leave a Reply

