Organix


The Organix website shouts ‘Start a lifetime adventure with food!’ which I think makes a great opening line for this review.   We’re all good eaters at this house so we were all very pleased to be asked to try out some of their yummy grub.   My kids are definitely beyond weaning, which is really the target audience for Organix meals, but they’re not beyond appreciating decent food.   So we revved up our tastebuds and had a munch on some of these.  Here’s what we thought!

Nice packaging, convenient to store (doesn’t need refridgerating), looks wholesome. All good so far!

I think Organix meals are a great idea for parents who have limited time, but still want to make sure their kids are getting  ‘proper’ food.  When my two were younger I experimented with making my own baby food and toddler food, and although it is definitely a fun thing to try, if you’re surviving off a minimum of sleep due to teething and tantrums, it’s not always easy to get on with.  These meals, in my eyes anyway, are a guilt free short cut.  Check out the ingredients on the back, no strange sounding additives you can’t pronounce – all familiar sounding food stuffs which is reassuring.

If you made this meal yourself, I should imagine the ingredients would be almost identical.

Creamy chicken pasta! You can see all the meat and veg, no grey ‘mush’ here – nicely textured for a toddler to get their teeth into.

This looks like grown up food, but it’s just soft enough for kids to easily manage with their new grown teeth. It’s not cooked into soggy oblivion which helps get them used to eating ‘real’ food.

The above meals are for 1 – 3 year old children, they tasted nice, although a little bland for my two.  I suspect that’s a wise move though, my kids are older and have slightly more sophisticated tastes these days – younger kids need a while to adapt to strongly flavoured foods (I think so, but that’s just my opinion, if your child was raised on chicken curry, I take it all back!)

My question is, are these meals for chunky toddlers, or is it chunky food for toddlers? I think I’ve said ‘chunky’ too much. It’s one of those words that sounds daft after you’ve said it more than three times. Chunky-chunky-chunky!

Another question, were these crackers made from very small ‘mini’ cheeses, or is it because they’re mini and fit easily into a toddler’s hands?  Answers on a postcard please.

These were in the above packet, they reminded me of a well known brand of baked cheese mini biscuit things, but with far less salt and less strong cheese flavouring. They were very popular with the kids who ate a packet each in about 2 minutes.

Veg & Oat Bars, namely tomato and carrot. I’m so sorry, we all tried very hard to like these, they sounded so nutritious and looked moist and nommy. Unfortunately all the family found them a bit odd. It’s all a matter of taste though! Sorry Organix!

I don’t know why kids love this kind of bottle so much! Perhaps they remind them of baby bottles? My two merrily drank this stuff and said it was really nice. The ingredients again are nice and homely. No aspartame in evidence unlike other drinks I could mention.

These are very easy to eat, nice and crunchy, contain carrots of all things, and are very moreish. Ideal for packed lunches and devoured in seconds.  I can’t show you a picture of the snacks, because I got distracted for a minute and when I came back they’d all gone!

I saved the best for last. Personally I could live off this stuff, never mind the kids! It’s slightly gooey puree, that tastes of real fresh fruit. It’s naturally sweet without added sugar, and is a clever / sneaky way to get children to down one more of their portions of 5 fruit and veg a day. We all really, really loved this, brilliant squeezy packaging too which you can reseal if they don’t finish the lot in one go.

Organix have a ‘No Junk!’ policy, and I honestly did have a good look at everything we were sent, it seems they are doing a great job at keeping that promise.  (unless I’ve missed something, which I don’t think I have?).   I’ll admit not everything on here was to my taste or to my kids’ taste, but that’s just normal isn’t it.  I’ve slaved over a hot stove many an evening, only to have them turn their noses up at what I’d consider fantabulous food. Can’t win ’em all! At least you can be reassured that Organix consider and take your child’s nutrition seriously.

If you’d like to have a look around the Organix website, please click HERE.  Great for packed lunches, snacks, meals and weaning!

Organix sent me a selection of their products to review, no other financial reward was given.  I highly recommend the puree, we could have easily have got through bucketfulls of the stuff!

Leave a Reply

