The Jenny Craig Diet! Day 1


The Jenny Craig Diet!  Day 1.

A Waffle and a Vlog

It’s such a typically girly thing to say – ‘I’m on a diet!’ I can barely even believe I’m writing this to be honest. The one I am trying is the Jenny Craig diet which you can find out more about if you click the above link.

(See if you can spot my usual catchphrase!)

If you want to keep up with my dieting and my cravings for steak, red wine and chocolate, please do feel free to subscribe to my YouTube channel.

I will admit I have never, in all my life, been on any  kind of diet regime and have simply tried to eat healthily where possible and exercise isn’t really an issue for me as I spent vast amounts of time trogging up and down hills.  Despite my efforts my weight has gone up from 9 1/2 stone when I was approx 25 years old, to the slightly podgier 11 stone that I am now.  I’m 5 ft 7, so I’m reasonably tall, but I know that this isn’t my ideal weight, and my clothes don’t fit as well as they should.  I blame having kids, grabbing food as and when I can instead of eating in an orderly manner, binging on chocolate, and takeaways……oh and being incredibly greedy.

So, when I was given the chance to review the Jenny Craig diet, I thought, ‘Well, why not! What is there to lose apart from weight?’  So I signed up, had my initial consulatation and I was off.  I’ve also decided to go vegetarian over the next two weeks, it’s something I’ve wanted to do for years, but frankly I love the taste of meat, I just don’t feel happy about the treatment of many of the animals that we find on our dining tables.   I know I could buy free range, raised in a lush green field  in Oxfordshire, fed on the finest organic grain, meat – but it is expensive!  Anyway, this is just an experiment for me to see if I can manage without bacon butties  and achieve some weight loss in the process really.  We shall see!

It’s fairly easy during the day, but I always eat in the evenings to reward myself for surviving a usually hectic day.  That’s when I really struggle.  Last night I had a glass of damson gin and a quarter of a packet of crisps because it was a Saturday night and I told myself it’s ‘cos I’m worth it!’ which was cheating really.  I shall be updating as I go along, and wish me luck!  I’d love to know if anyone has tried any other diets that have worked for them, a lot of people struggle with weight loss at this time of year and helpful advice never goes amiss!

8 responses to “The Jenny Craig Diet! Day 1

  1. I am so envious that a) you’ve never gone on a diet (sensible woman) and b) that you are trialling Jenny Craig. I have a friend who has done a similar diet where they send you your food & it has certainly worked for her. My problem is hubby. He wouldn’t be happy about having to eat something different & we couldn’t afford for either of us to do it. He has lost lots of weight by me reading the backs of packets & buying food that is low in saturated fats. We haven’t had to give anything up just changed. so instead of bacon we have gammon. Good luck!

  2. The little things do make a difference eventually I think. Just switching to skimmed milk instead of full fat, and as you say about checking packets, it all helps. I think this way of dieting is, I have to admit, a little pricey, but for the convenience of someone else planning your meals, adding your calories for you, organising snacks etc, it’s certainly worth it if you’re really determined to lose weight in a certain time frame – ie for a wedding or something. Eating something different is very difficult, it’s v hard to cook and not eat the food I make for the rest of the family. Well, will just have to see how I stick at it! Thanks for commenting. x

  3. Ahh I think you’re going to do briliantly – and I do genuinely believe you will find going meat free easier than you think. I was a staunch meat eater in my early 20s, literally ate it with every meal, every day. I gave it up overnight after reading a terribly traumatic animal care story and have never looked back, I also think that using some kind of “diet” plan to help kickstart things is a really good idea, as it will help and you’ll realise that you can do it anyway with a few small lifestyle changes. I’m the worlds biggest cynic when it comes to faddy eating, but we all need a kick in the bum to get us motivated (mine was the doctor telling me aged 23 or so that at 13 stone I was hugely overweight, and she was right) and if you want to change things, you will. Look forward to reading more about it! x

  4. I’d never heard of this plan, until Tracy from the White Lily green posted about it last year. Since then I’ve seen it’s advertised lots. Im intrigued to know whether you get anything ‘fresh’ to eat…can you add extra fresh vegetables to a dish? Also, as you must be taking the vegetarian plan, I rarely find diets have such an option..so that interst me being a veggie. Good luck Kay x

  5. having a look through they dont cater for allergy sufferers – just more normal people.
    and Kay *hold on whilst I get on my hard hat and duck* from what you tell me about your cooking I think hubbys got the raw deal..;)
    it all looks prepackaged and reheated, must admit I prefer fresh, but good luck look forward to seeing how you go.
    Must admit I dont diet, I eat healthy but “thinking slimmer” has made more difference to me than anything else I have tried over the years, but would love to go afford to go back swimming again

  6. Lins, I can’t believe you were 13 stone! That must have been awful to have been told that by the doctor, I’d have been tempted to slap him! True or not true, that seems harsh, but I suppose maybe necessary if you agreed that you were overweight too. Helluva kick up the bum! I do genuinely think I should be veggie, but I don’t know if I can do it as my family are proper carnivores, as am I because I like the taste of it. It just doesn’t seem right to say ‘Ooh, look at the fluffy lambs!’ and then eat one of their legs for tea’.

    Elaine, you’re quite right really. Prior to this I had never dieted in my life and have always been very anti-dieting if I’m being honest. A healthy lifestyle with healthy foods should equal a healthy person, never mind calorie counting and portion control. But….. even so, I have piled on the pounds since having had the kids. Jenny Craig reckon that most people keep the weight off for a year afterwards so this might just be a help towards getting a bit leaner and staying that way for a little while longer. I shall probably pile the weight back on afterwards, but this will have to be seen!

  7. Amanda, yes you can add fresh foods, so it’s not all packaged. They have a grocery list and advice on portion control in regards to extra food to complement the diet too. That’s quite good, because I don’t like the idea of eating out of packets all the time at all! Yep I’m on the veggie option, mind you I’m eating fish. I thought it would be too much of a jump to go from meat eating to just veg. S’pose that makes me a pescatarian, or whatever the term is.

  8. oooh! Good luck with it!!!

Leave a Reply

