Ghostly Investigations!


Ghostly Investigations!

I posted about my strange nightmare / ghostly experience at Alan’s Place, International Backpackers  in Aukland a couple of blogs ago.  I thought it fitted in with the Halloween theme, and to be honest, it still scared me to remember it so I thought I may as well share the spookiness!  It was wierd though.   If you’d like to read it, please click HERE.

After posting it, a few people suggested I try and research Alan’s Place a little and see if I could find out a bit more about the history.  It might seem strange that I’ve never done this before & that it has taken me 13 years to even come up with the idea of research – but you see I’d never really given that night much thought until I dug up the diary entry again and re-read it.  At the time I was too embarrassed to ask the staff if the place was haunted or if they knew of anything strange that went on there, or if the history had any connection with my experience.

From a quick Google I did find out that Alan’s place was once a hospital for the blind – If you click on this link and look 2/3 of the way down it mentions this in the section entitled  Back to Auckland (Friday 27th November)

But now we have the internet!  I can send emails and not actually see people sniggering at my odd query – so what ‘s there to lose?!  Nothing! 

Here’s the email I sent off today, and if and when I get a reply, I’ll blog it.  There might be nothing that ever comes of this, but then again there might be.  Who’s to know!

Hello!

I hope you don’t mind me contacting you with a rather strange query. 

On the 27th June, 1998 (or around that date) I stayed at your hostel, when it was known as Alan’s Place.  

Since then I’ve always wondered about the history of the place, from trawling Google I’ve found out that it used to be a hospital for the blind?  Would that be right?  

The reason I’ve wondered about it, is basically because I think I might have seen a ghost whilst there.  At the time, I was too embarrassed to ask if the place had any history that might have fitted in with my ‘experience’ / nightmare – whatever it was. 

These days I run a blog called on The Brink of Bedlam, and this Halloween I decided to blog my one and only spooky experience in Aukland which brought all the memories back.  Because of the anonymity of the internet, I don’t feel quite as silly enquiring about the history this time.  I know my visit was 13 years ago, and that the place has probably changed hands, been updated and is totally different to how it was – but I was just hoping that someone might have some information about whether or not there was ever anything untoward that went on there.

This is the diary entry I wrote the day after I stayed at Alan’s Place if you’d like to read it.  http://wp.me/1d7pP   (If the link doesn’t work, please just copy and paste it into your browser)   It is absolutely as it was written at the time, with no alterations – and this is not a wind up if you were wondering.  It is a 100% genuine query.  

If you are unable to help me with my enquiries, is there anyone else who might be able to?  Former owners, staff or reference books you could suggest maybe?  

Many, many thanks for reading and any help at all would be very gratefully received.  

Yours faithfully,

Kay  :O)
http://www.brinkofbedlam.co.uk
Brink of Bedlam blog
@Chaoskay

3 responses to “Ghostly Investigations!

  1. Ooh a mystery!
    Do keep us updated x

  2. Hi Kay

    You might also want to look up “Old Hag Syndrome” as your experience sounds just like it. It’s not always a hag that people see – it can be a man, an animal, an alien…….

    I’m not saying it wasn’t a ghost as I do believe in ghosts (I’ve seen one). However Old Hag Syndrome is quite common – I’ve experienced it myself on several occasions, and it’s one of the most terrifying experiences I’ve ever had.

    Have a look and see what you think

    • Funnily enough I used to suffer with that syndrome, they really are horribly vivid nightmares. This was different though, the noises in the dream and the atmosphere in the place was really noticeable. I’m still fairly convinced it was something strange you know….

Leave a Reply

