Twitter 2000 Follower Blog – Tweeting Tomfoolery


Twitter 2000 Follower Blog – Tweeting Tomfoolery

Well, I’ve finally done it!  I have 2000 followers on Twitter!  I’m not sure if it’s because people have followed me by accident and can’t be arsed to unfollow me, or if it’s because I get tipsy on Rose wine and tweet about cats & fish lots on a Saturday night every now and then.  Either way, it’s a bit of landmark for me.  As far as social networking goes, Twitter is the bees knees and I’ve met some really, really lovely people.  I just wanted to blog a little about some of the highlights, the lowlights and the falling-over-lights of the last few years Tweeting escapades. Apologies if you’re reading this and you’re not a tweeter, normal (ish) blogs will resume soon, promise.

That's me that is!

So!  Where do I start.  There was the cooking the salmon in a dishwasher adventure and the accompanying fund raising blog voting comp (never again!), that was fun.  My fabulous (and completely baffled) tweeting friends helped publicise the event by twittering at all and sundry about #fishydishycookery and I eventually raised over £500, including Gift Aid for the RNLI.  I made a billion and one terrible nautical & fishy jokes and was astounded that people kept on following me despite the appalling humour.  Thanks for that mihearties!  My dishwasher is fine now by the way, before you ask.  We do not have cutlery-a-la-stinkalot, honest.

Then there was the #VirtualPubTrip which was a great laugh.  I seem to remember matching drinks with @Gidders1 and  and tweeting about dancing on tables.  All completely ridiculous, but a lot of tweeters joined in and I’m sure someone escaped out of a virtual pub toilet window.  This is a little hazy, but I think some random bloke started chatting and got harassed to death too, can’t for the life of me remember his username.  Tell you what though, typing ‘#VirtualPubTrip’ whilst being three sheets to the wind is very difficult, my typing fingers got very confoosled!  I thought it was fabulous how so many of us, stuck in on a Saturday night still managed a pub trip of sorts, whilst being stuck in different corners of the UK, thanks to Twitter.

Which one are you?

A while ago I put out a request for recipes for a cake in a mug on Twitter and had a load of responses and suggestions too.  I eventually made one that looked like bathroom sponge and it didn’t taste much better (not that I’ve eaten that many bathoom sponges….).  It was still really nice that so many people wanted to help me with my cake fix though, even if the end result was a bit dodgy – I’m sure that was my cooking, not the recipe by the way.  Just goes to show how helpful & resourceful people are on there.  I’m sure a couple of people managed to tweet full blown recipes in 140 characters too, which is amazing in itself.

Another memorable Twitter phenomenon was the Cometball comp.  I’m sure lots of you remember forlorn tweets from people along the lines of ‘Will someone please take this effing ball off me please!’ and ‘It’s crashed again…..aargh!’  It was a brilliant illustration of teamwork and bad programming, with lots of compers putting hours of dedicated tweets into the most frustrating and mindless comp ever.  I think the aim was to pass the hashtag on and target unwitting victims, only to watch them wander along Twitter’s timeline cursing for half an hour while the programme flatly refused to work.  Very entertaining, unless you were the person left with the hashtag….  The number of times I ended up with it just before I was due to go to bed! (Kay swears quietly under her breath).

Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's another blummin' Cometball! Duck!

I could go on, but this blog is in danger of exceeding normal blog length limits and you may all fall asleep if I continue.  All in all, Twitter for me, has been a great way of being sociable, whilst being stuck in the house with two kids.  When the days have been long and boring, and I’ve not been able to get out, I have so appreciated the silly, serious, supportive banter from fellow tweeters.  I’ve not felt quite so alone with my thoughts sometimes.   Even when I’ve been online at 3 in the morning because of OH’s wild animal like snoring or nightmares about giant lobsters (the kid’s nightmares, not mine!), there’s been someone to chat to. Twitter is a constant companion now, and I’m so happy to have so many friends with funny names as a result.

Anyway, I’m sure you all have important tweeting to be doing, comps to enter, websites to trawl etc.  So I’ll cut to the chase.  Free virtual bar!  Take your pick!  ‘Milkybars are on me!’  Ah….there’s something wrong with that. ‘Drinks are on me!’ I should say.

Many thanks to all my blog followers and Twitter followers!  Cheers!

Milkybars are on me! or The bar's free! Whichever you prefer....

5 responses to “Twitter 2000 Follower Blog – Tweeting Tomfoolery

  1. Congratulations m’dear. Wish I’d been around for some of the earlier escapades! As a newbie, I tend to stick with a few ‘faithfuls’ rather than doing anything that could be considered ‘rude’ – butting in on people’s conversations, etc. – I don’t think I’ve broken any etiquette rules with you – either than or you’ve been too polite to say. Anyway, here’s to reading more of you musings, and mine’s a muddy water (orange juice and coke)!

  2. Congratulations m’dear. Wish I’d been around for some of the earlier escapades! As a newbie, I tend to stick with a few ‘faithfuls’ rather than doing anything that could be considered ‘rude’ – butting in on people’s conversations, etc. – I don’t think I’ve broken any etiquette rules with you – either than or you’ve been too polite to say. Anyway, here’s to reading more of you musings, and mine’s a muddy water (orange juice and coke)!

  3. I have a real glass of wine, but I’ll line up one of those frighteningly coloured virtual drinks for afterwards. Been a pleasure to know you on Twitter. Frighteningly, I remember all the things you mention, whether it’s in my current guise or the old LoLo of the Pants account.

    Long may the fun continue. Another #VPT soon?

  4. Boydboys, you have been nothing but the epitome of good manners, lol! Feel free to butt in on any of my conversations. *passes muddy water* I’m relieved you explained that it is orange juice and coke, and not just muddy water – that would have really confused me! ;O)

    Morrighani, I’m up for #VPT if you are! It’s been fun hasn’t it :O)

  5. Congratulations on your 2000. That is a lot.

Leave a Reply

