Homemade Pizza in a Castle!


Homemade Pizza in a Castle!

Today, I sat down and thought…..’Oh hell, what do I do with the kids today!’  as I drank my tea and listened to the sweet sound of thudding feet running up and down the landing and the squeals of a screaming Sausage.    My son’s nickname is Sausage for those of you who were wondering and raising eyebrows.

Yep, they were running around like crazy things and Sausage was screaming because Darlek had probably simply stopped him from hitting her – the day ahead seemed scary and long. So, I put my thinking cap on and decided a pizza activity would have to do.  It would fill the time nicely, and fill their tummies at the same time.  Perfect!

So this afternoon I filled the bread machine with dough mixture, and with one of my new favourite ingredients – Tomato Powder.  It doesn’t sound very exciting, but it gives bread and pastry a  lovely orangey / red colour and a sweet tomatoey tang. Obviously this recipe should be adapted according to your bread machine’s requirements.

Pizza Base:

1/2 teaspoon of Yeast

300g (11oz) Strong White Flour

1 tbsp Olive Oil

1 tsp Salt

170 ml Lukewarm Water.

1 tbsp Tomato Powder

I’d actually run out of  tomato puree so instead I reduced a whole tin of peeled  plum tomatoes mashed in a pan, with a teaspoon of sugar and a tablespoon of potato flakes which thickened the puree surprisingly well. The dough looked a fabulous colour once it was done, very orange and extremely sticky.  Maybe more flour might have helped…

* I’ve since realised you can actually make tomato puree from the tomato powder, but I didn’t realise that at the time.  Doh!

Gooey!

I stretched out the dough onto two pizza trays and half cooked them in the oven until doubled in size and then my two little minions and their cousins decorated them with cheese, red & green peppers, gherkins, onion and pepperoni.  One of the pizzas ended up looking like a face, and the other was a pretty circular pattern of vegetable and pepperoni.  They didn’t argue or eat half of the ingredients before they got onto the pizza either, I was amazed and very pleased!  Here’s a quick vlog of us all outside.  Please ignore my huge fluffy boots.  It was very sunny out there, I had very hot feet.  I have no idea why I was wearing them.
Perhaps it’s more of the Summer Holiday madness I was posting about earlier.

The decorating the pizza bit was all done outside in the garden, any excuse to get into the open air for a while, and to reduce the amount of clearing up!  I’m always grateful for Mother Nature and her amazing composting abilities.

These were the finished results!

Smiley face pizza!

Pretty patterned pizza!

Once cooked (a further 20 mins in a medium oven) most of the pizza was devoured in their castle in the garden.  I don’t know how they found room to eat it, as you can see it was a bit of a squish.

Dinner in the castle!

The castle ramparts!

It’s been a really lovely sunny day, and the kids have all got on very well for once. We had the occasional ‘Muum! (whiney voice) He won’t gimme any water!’ (screams as water bottle is wrenched from youngest’s grip) and other such incidents  – but thankfully they were few and far between.   The combination of a fun activity, food, a den and a sunny day is a pleasant one.   I do love summer! Can we please put off autumn and winter until next year? Could someone important arrange that please?

Many thanks to one of my blog sponsors, Healthy Supplies, who supplied some of the lovely ingredients for today’s cookery project. If you’d like to visit their page for further tasty recipes and ingredients please click HERE.

4 responses to “Homemade Pizza in a Castle!

  1. Fifi loves making pizza, but we can only do it when Bob not here, and we never have one without the other.
    love the nice healthy toppings, and glad it gave you a bit of peace and harmony, and I love the castle

  2. The idea of Homemade Pizza is excellent but then the I guess something missing, maybe more images I am looking for but it was a great post.

  3. Thank you both of you, for your comments. There’s quite a few images on there already, lol! I notice you’re in the ‘image’ business yourself Francis, which is a coincidence. Thanks for contributing, it’s appreciated. x

  4. you can’t beat a homemade pizza, never heard of tomato powder before but I think I need to get some for my store cupboard!

Leave a Reply

