Plans, Schemes and Dreams.


Plans, Schemes and Dreams.

I have a couple of them you see…..

I want to write.

By way of explanation, my passion (apart from my family of course) is writing. That was why I started this blog in the first place.

I’ve always loved waffling, ever since I started filling in my diary at age 11 with what I’d eaten for dinner, how it tasted and how many portions I had.  At age 16 I’d moved onto writing endless, terrible, awful, pining waffle about my boyfriend, and then it was university.  I spent rather too much time then trying to work out exactly what the lecturers wanted to hear and attempting to write that down.  No fun at all, boring as hell mostly and I wasn’t very good at it.  Maybe not a very illustrious start.

Despite this, I’ve persisted over the years, through detailed diaries mostly.    I’m naturally a hoarder, and I suspect that extends to memories too.

For example when marriage and kids bumbled along, I happily bumbled along with it – writing about the ups and downs, the sad bits, the silly bits, the crying bits, the laughing till I cried bits…..  I have a doc on my old computer that relates almost every single day of Darlek’s first year.  Even now, if I read certain parts of it, it can make me cry or giggle to myself.  It’s the every day journey in miniscule, and I love to look back on it.

When I began the Brink of Bedlam, the aim was to simply extend my diaries online, but it’s not turned out like that really.  The thing is, blogging is such a varied thing with so many outside influences, my ‘writing’ has spiralled out into something that is so far removed from a diary, I hardly recognise it.  I’ve found myself writing about hand sanitizer and wet wipes for example……nice hand sanitizer and wet wipes though they may be, they’re not the stuff memories are made of.

I’ve seen what how other people blog and write and to a great extent I’ve followed sheeplike ‘baaing’ in their footsteps, but it’s not working for me.  I’ve had a bit of a lightbulb moment triggered by Cybermummy if I’m being honest.  The Brink of Bedlam is never going to be a high-powered big, brand magnet, money making blog and I should stop trying to make it something that it isn’t.

So….where was I? Ah, that was it. ‘Writing’.  I intend to do more of it, and to get better at it.  Cybermummy was an inspiration to me, one of the things that really stood out was in the writing workshop, where Sophie King said that if you want to blog and write seriously, rather than just amble about in your webspace, find your ‘niche.’  I think (she says looking around nervously) I’m far better at writing about life and random things than I am at advertising.  With that in mind, I’m going to try and write more about life in general, review relevant things and just be a more disciplined, professional blogger /writer.

Don’t get me wrong, through blogging I’ve found and worked with some brilliant companies, and I’ll be hanging onto their coat tails for as long as they let me.  I’ll still very happily include their links and products every now and then, I just don’t want that to overtake everything else.

I want to write, I want you to enjoy reading what I write, and I want you to stay subscribed to my blog because you like it, not because I’ve begged you to keep me company and bribed you with virtual chocolate biscuits.

One day I’d like to write a book, there I’ve said it!  With this in mind I’m going to practise on you, my wonderful supportive readers, brace yourselves.  I’m on a rocky, writing, parenting, blogging, laughing, crying, rambling road and I intend to share all the bumps, twists and turns with you.

So there you go, a statement of intent.  My plans, schemes and dreams.

9 responses to “Plans, Schemes and Dreams.

  1. Good for you – do what makes you happy. 🙂
    The idea that I have to find my niche, rather than whatever takes my fancy on the day terrifies me though. Oh what are us barren bloggers supposed to do without the guidance of Cybermummy?

  2. I’m just too random for my own good though, I’ve almost quite literally lost the plot with where I’ve been heading with this blog. I think stopping and re-evaluating stuff is the way forward for me. As for Cybermummy guidance, I was inspired by the other bloggers more than anything and they’re all over Twitter and the Tinternet, and are very easy to find. *I’m looking at you Laura :O) *

  3. all I can say is heaven help us all Kay ( or was that Stevie Wonder??)
    mine at the moment seems to be diversifying into cooking for a multiple food allergy child, mind I did say at the beginning I wanted to do that so I suppose it was going to happen at some point. If you want a recipe for dairy, egg, gluten, wheat, nut free pancakes then post will go live tomorrow once the pics are uploaded. and yummy they were too…lol

  4. Go Girl! I’m not going anywhere – want to see the ‘new, improved, independent’ version!

  5. I’m thinking of going dairy free, so you may have me turning up on your blogging doorstep begging for advice shortly! It’s quite literally a pain in the bum to have to eat / cook selectively – and I don’t have to deal with even a smidgen of the culinary stresses you do Elaine. I’ll keep an eye out for the pancake blog, love the things! x

  6. Kay, I absolutely think you are doing the right thing. The thing about blogging is you have to always remember why you started in the first place, you have to be true to yourself and stick with your passion. I read loads of beauty blogs and I can tell that some people are doing it for the wrong reasons, it clearly shows in their writing, they are either in it for the freebies or they treat it like a competitive sport to see who can get the most followers etc. Your natural, from the heart posts have me crying with laughter and that’s why I started stalking you in the first place. Please don’t change, stay just they way you are. Jude xxx @jadlgw

  7. Thanks Jude and Boydbirds. I mean, I’m still going to do reviews (got a couple in the pipeline tbh) just ones I can put my heart into really, and not so many of them. I’ll probably screw it all up and in a coupla weeks time you’ll wonder what the hell I was on about, but I need to try to do this properly. I’m running an old banger of a blog at the mo, definitely overdue an overhaul! I need to focus on what’s important as a priority, if that makes any sense at all, lol! :O)

  8. One thing I learnt from Cybermummy is you have to absolutely blog for YOU. Do what makes you happy. There’s no right or wrong, in any rule book! If it makes you happy, then it’s going in the right direction. I like doing reviews, I always have, even as a child. But I am turning down more than I’m accepting now, and that’s how I want it to be.

    I’ve always loved your blog, and I always will. Because I love your writing, no matter what it’s about! You go girl… once you are happy with everything, it can only get better!

  9. I think you’re right Kay – you’ve lost a little bit of your bounce through trying to fit the run of the mill blogging mould. Have you come across the Reader’s Digest 100 word story competition? http://www.readersdigest.co.uk/magazine/212-Your-RD/1391-Your-Books.html
    Even if you don’t want to enter, it’s interesting to see what people choose to do with 100 words.

Leave a Reply

