Wanted: Purple Octopus Named George (Harassing Freecycle a little bit)


Wanted: Purple Octopus Named George (Harassing Freecycle a little bit)

For those of you who don’t know what ‘Freecycle’ is – it’s basically a web based organisation that encourages recycling and re-using. People post ‘Wanted’ emails, or ‘Offered’ emails to one central Freecycle email which then distributes the requests or offers to all the people in the area that are registered with them.  It’s like a giant swap shop really, no money changes hands and the aim is to keep things out of landfill.  I’m all for that, and have been registered with them for years now.   I’d highly recommend registering with Freegle / Freecycle if you have one in your area, a quick Google should bring up local groups.

We have passed on all sorts of stuff, and equally, we’ve recieved all manner of things too.  Not the least of which was a sofa bed in near mint condition.  It’s a ‘what goes around, comes around’ kind of affair really.  Something I’m happy to support and erm….wind up a little just this once.

Call me sad, but one of my favourite activities is browsing the Wanted and Offered posts that filter into my email inbox every day.  Sometimes there are absolute gems.  There’s the ridiculous ‘Wanted: Caravan’ posts that make me wonder if people are either tremendously optimistic or huge peas-takers (so to speak).  Then there’s the ‘Does anyone have a 1976 copy of The Beano annual because the dog’s eaten mine’ sort of emails that I love because they’re ridiculous requests, and because the little bit of detail about the destruction adds character. I really should keep a record of the ones that have made me laugh the most.

Anyway, I did my own silly post yesterday, I couldn’t help myself.  We recently received a standard email that had obviously been sent to all Freegle members, reminding them of what Freegle is all about – ie, keeping things out of Landfill basically.  It’s not a charity, etc etc.  This is a copy of one of the paragraphs, and the one that triggered my Wanted post.  There are constant references throughout the email to a ‘Purple Octopus named George’.  This was just one of them.

*What Freegle IS about:*

Freegle IS about keeping things out of the landfill.
It IS about giving away something that has no use in our life any more to someone who could extend its usefulness a little longer.
It IS about giving gifts to people while clearing out our own clutter.
It IS about creating, building, and sustaining an environmentally aware community.

*Offering Items We No Longer Need to Those Who Need Them:*

When we post an OFFER, we are offering to give someone a gift. It is up to us to give this gift to whomever we feel would be the best recipient.
We are not obligated to give our gift to someone who is rich, poor,
single, married, has no kids, has 1 kid, has 15 kids, has a car, doesn’t have a car, or has a purple octopus named George living in their backyard. We can choose the most polite, the rudest, the funniest, or the shortest response to receive our gift. We can put their names in a hat and do a draw, or we can wave our magic fingers over our screens and pick one that way. We can choose the first, 3rd, or 53rd respondent. We can wait 24 hours and then decide. It is up to us.

There are about 5 more references to this ‘Purple Octopus named George’ in the email (I’ve not copy and pasted all of it because I suspect you’d get bored), so by that logic, if this email is to be believed – there really must be someone with a Purple Octopus named George hanging around in their garage.  I intend to acquire one…….

So I have put up a post reading:

Wanted: Purple Octopus Named George

(See Freegle update letter)

Apparently someone has one.  Daughter would love one if anyone has one hanging around in their garage.  

So far I have had a few LOL’s in reply, and someone offering me ‘a pink rat and a few aluminous slugs’.  No-one has actually come up with an octopus, purple, called George, or otherwise as yet.  I am quietly hopeful though.  I don’t suppose any of my blog readers can oblige? *looks hopeful*.  Freegle obviously thinks that there are garages are full of them.

(Horace says I’m a menace with an internet connection and I think he may be right)

3 responses to “Wanted: Purple Octopus Named George (Harassing Freecycle a little bit)

  1. Hahaha! You are so funny! Love it!

  2. we see the same people advertising for stuff all the time, wee K** has broken the tv we need another, wee K** has broken the dvd player, the chest of drawers, his bed….I guess wee K** needs some discipline if this is true!!
    we put an advert on freecycle a few years back for half a rowing boat, prefer front end…..and we got it and they even delivered it for us….daughter needed it for a prop for a show there voluntary organisation was putting on.
    its a great site that works well most of the time, but can easily be abused by varying people

  3. Definitely. I think half the car boots around here are fuelled by Freecycle. It’s worth keeping a check on who’s offering stuff and only giving to familiar names if you can, I think so anyway. A brilliant idea though! People are so wasteful, Freecycle is a fabulous way to keep things in use for that little bit longer. As if you got half a rowing boat, lol! That would have been a post that would have made me laugh! :O)

Leave a Reply

