Musicality!


Musicality

I have no idea if that’s a word or not, but I like it, so it’s staying.  This is a blog about music, about songs that have kept me company throughout the years.   Music has always been a passion of mine, I can’t play an instrument or anything, so it’s not a musicians soul that I have.  Mind you, I did get Grade 1 for playing the Recorder, but that means I can simply play God Save the Queen and a German Folk Tune, I don’t reckon that counts for much.  I’d say I have more of an ‘appreciative ear’ for music, something like that.

Music is wonderful in my opinion.  When I feel something inside I can’t express, and the words and feelings get all tangled up, I often trawl my music collection (or Spotify these days) and find something that will sing it all out for me.  It’s like therapy I suppose.

So off we go.  I’ve decided to raid YouTube and list a few.  On here, there’ll be happy songs, sad songs, songs that inspire me, songs I absolutely cannot stand, funny songs and maybe a little bit of waffle about them inbetween.


This song just makes me smile, it’s gives me a ‘there’s a sun in the sky and I’m glad to be alive’ kind of feeling. Even if it’s drizzling and the wind’s howling around the hillside. My parents had a copy of Simon and Garfunkel’s Greatest hits and I played it over and over again when I was little. It’s just a sweet, beautiful, uplifting song that I will never tire of.


Now this is a song that reminds me of when I had my heart broken, it’s so incredibly sad. I still feel the shadow of that pain when I listen to this and I can remember it hurting like nothing else in the world. Makes me fill up with tears almost every time I listen to it.


I adore this song for so many reasons. The way they use the sound of water dropping combined with the harp reminds me of light pattering rainfall in spring, and the harmonies are beautiful. The words inspire me too, I love ‘I had a dream when the car was reduced to a fossil, take a packet of seeds, take yourself out to play, I want to see a river of orchids where we had a motorway.  Push your car from the road, the grass is always greener when it bursts out from concrete’. This song just paints pictures so perfectly.  (The video that goes with this is ridiculous, I couldn’t find a more sensible one, feel free to laugh out loud at the grass car thingy, and the apocalyptic thunderstorm bit, what the hell is that about?!!)

The song speaks for itself. I sat in the cinema listening to this whilst watching Mama Mia, next to my mum, with tears streaming down my cheeks.


This is just sheer comic brilliance! Istanbul (not Constantinople). It makes absolutely no sense at all, but it’s really quirky, tuneful and original. I’ve got their album and as a family we yowl along to ‘Whistling in the Dark’ on long car journeys every now and then.


I walked down the aisle to this song. Every time I listen to it I see in my mind’s eye pictures of the past, happy times, sad times and I always have a feeling of ‘it was all worth it.’ It’s an introspective song filled with memories and warmth for me.


You may laugh but when I finally ‘pop my clogs’ as they say around here, I’d love to have this played at my funeral The title might be a little inappropriate for the occassion though, it’s called ‘Good Riddance, (time of your life)’. It’s not that I’d be happy to see the back of my friends and family at all, more that through everything I’ve had the time of my life, one way or another!

At this point I’m going to type out the words of the last song, just because I can – and because I think they’re so true and because I live by them. I hope I’ve not gone on too much today, and that you’ve enjoyed a bit of a musical dawdle along YouTube Lane. Thanks for the company.

“Good Riddance (Time Of Your Life)”

Another turning point, a fork stuck in the road
Time grabs you by the wrist, directs you where to go
So make the best of this test, and don’t ask why
It’s not a question, but a lesson learned in time

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

So take the photographs, and still frames in your mind
Hang it on a shelf in good health and good time
Tattoos of memories and dead skin on trial
For what it’s worth it was worth all the while

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

It’s something unpredictable, but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

One response to “Musicality!

  1. Really enjoyed listening to this eclectic mix of songs really lovely Kay, thanks for sharing.

    Lots if memories, tears and happy times for me too x

Leave a Reply

