MAD Blog Awards 2011 – A Fair Process?


MAD Blog Awards 2011 – A Fair Process?

Before you read this blog, consider this question… If the Oscars were awarded by public vote, would that be fair?  Would the best film/actor/screenplay win?

Firstly, I’m very proud to announce that the Brink of Bedlam has been nominated in the Mad Blog Awards under the category of ‘Best MAD Blog for Family Fun’ and the ‘Best MAD Family Life Blog’ and ‘Best MAD New Blog’.  Thank you to whoever nominated me, you made my day / week / month!  My heart did a little skip when I spotted my name on the list.  Lovely!

If you’d like to find out more about these awards and what they stand for, simply click on the MAD Blog Awards badge at the side of this post.  To summarise, these awards are like the Oscars for Parent Bloggers.  If it were up to me, which it isn’t, I’d call it ‘The Blogscars.’ (or maybe that just sounds like some kind of post birth injury?!)

A nomination might sound impressive, but I am amongst a plethora (I do love using that word, sounds like a flock of birds to me) of other brilliant blogs, so I’m not holding my breath – although miracles can happen I know.  Having said that I’ve survived 6 years of parenting, which is a miracle in itself, so I’ve had my allocation of miracles already.  I mustn’t be greedy now.

All nominated blogs are now going through to the second stage which is a voting process.   Basically this means, no matter how good your blog is, if you can’t get enough people to vote for you, your name will disappear from the list as quickly as you can hit your delete button.  To me that doesn’t seem fair.  Having seen and having been involved with voting competitions in the past in ‘comping’ circles, it makes me sad to see this method used as a selection process.  Surely the blogs that will go through to the next round will simply be the ones with the biggest readership, and with the most time to dedicate to canvassing for votes?

From experience, almost every single voting competition I have ever seen has also ended up with people back-biting, arguing and most disappointingly, cheating.  I’m not saying that will definitely happen in this instance, but ….

You might think I’m starting the trend off nicely, criticising the awards system – but I do genuinely wish everyone well, and will be very happy for the winners.  I can say that unreservedly.  I just don’t think that it’s fair, and I’m a great believer in fairness and level playing fields.

The final blog winners are chosen via an independent voting panel, which I cannot dispute.  I just think it’s a shame the whole award system isn’t judged this way.  I could spend a while putting my point across, but frankly  life is too short and Horace in particular told me to ‘Shurrup and stop being stroppy’, so being the good little wife I am, I’m going to trundle off elsewhere.

I’ve tweeted a little to the MAD Blog Awards on this subject, and as they said themselves, these awards are now in their second year, so they know what they’re doing.  Fair enough!  Two years is a long time.  I just needed to say my piece.

I know I’ve probably lost blogging contacts because of the opinions I’ve aired, but speaking from the lofty heights of number 964 on the Tots100 ranks, I don’t have much to lose.  I’m probably on some kind of blogging black list now, but what the hell.

(I’ve written a follow up blog and here’s the link – #MADBlogAwards A response and my thoughts

12 responses to “MAD Blog Awards 2011 – A Fair Process?

  1. No hunny, you are absoultely right, it isn’t altogether a fair way of doing it, but nevertheless, congrats on the nomination, I didn’t get there ( sniff sniff) but then hey ho I have deliberately made mine hard to categorize!
    I am happy to sit there in the Black Hole for bloggers, and I seriously doubt you will upset anyone with your comments here, not anyone worth knowing anyhows!

  2. Hi! You are airing an articulate opinion about a system – not vilifying the organisers of that system. The world will have surely gone ‘mad’ (ahem) if you end up on any blacklist because of it.

    Ad interim, I am pleased to have discovered your blog. 🙂

  3. I take your point entirely. I’m very new to this scene, liking what I find but still getting my head round it and making friends. So, I illustrate your point myself – my own current knowledge of potential nominees is very small! Anyway, shouldn’t the making friends bit be the most important? I’m not against competitions or awards, but perhaps they sometimes detract from the camaraderie. What do you think?

  4. Sharon Goodwin

    Kay, I love reading your blogs and to be honest, if you then kept canvassing (that’s all your tweets consisted of – or mostly consisted of even) I would get fed up. It would turn, what for me is a positive online relationship, soured.

    I agree wholeheartedly with your opinion on this. Once voted for it should then be judged by a panel – missing out the canvassing part!

    Congrats on being nominated (wish it was me but sadly, not).

    @shazjera

  5. Ohhhh I saying nuffink. Don’t want to be black-balled. Have my ranking mysteriously suspended. Get ignored and treated snippily.

    Oh what the hell. You are of course 100% completely absolutely Charlie and Lola right. x

  6. You are of course completely allowed to air your very articulate view on this and I think you might be surprised at just how many people agree with you! I know I have very similar reservations and I do find it hard to say that I’m not comfortable with the whole process without seeming to be completely ungrateful for the nominations I’ve received!
    Personally, I don’t like this ‘competitive’ side to blogging and I saw it bring out the worst in some people last time around. As such, as honoured as I was to be nominated, I don’t want to be part of it and won’t be displaying the badge so that I can’t go any further in the whole thing.
    Great post! x

  7. While I agree that blog awards are basically popularity contests (and have said similarly that I know I’m not popular enough to win, and I find them a bit depressing) there’s no way anyone is going to blackball anyone for saying it.

    Is popularity fair? It’s not anything. It just is. I don’t know of any blog awards that don’t work on this system, and there’s an awful lot of them around – I’ve been blogging a long time. (I’ve yet to see a category for eclectic blog that’s been here since the dinosaurs, shame as I’d waltz it…)

  8. just discovered your blog and i love it. you are entitled to your opinion. congrats on your nomination. i didn’t even get a look in and that’s ridulous because my blog is amazing-ha ha! so the voting system must be unfair!!!!!

  9. Hi Kay

    The great thing about blogging and the Internet is it’s big enough for you to pick and choose the bits you like – if something doesn’t work for you, then don’t worry about it, just pay attention to the other stuff. And for what it’s worth, I’m very much in favour of opinions on blogs (even if people don’t agree with me) providing an opinion is consistent and genuinely held – which isn’t always the case, sadly.

    Not everyone enters awards. By definition, if someone wins an award, someone else doesn’t. For some people that’s not what they want their blogging to be about – which I can totally respect and understand.

    For others awards are a fun way to learn about new blogs and share the blogs they love, while potentially being able to attend a fun awards ceremony and have their work recognised. And those people do enjoy the MAD Blog Awards, which is equally valid.

    As I’ve said to others, with around 300-500 blogs nominated per category and 15 award categories, it simply isn’t practical to ask any judge to look at all the nominated blogs in enough detail to make an informed decision on which is ‘best’ in each category – you’d be asking someone to do nothing but read blogs for six months! And that’s if you could find a judging panel that everybody agreed was fair – not easy in a community where feuds and fall-outs happen on an almost weekly basis!

    We have what we consider is the best possible (but certainly not perfect) in place for nominations and votes, it is very carefully monitored, and I personally am confident that the results are not skewed by cheating or automated voting.

    It is certainly true that popularity is part of what would lead a blog win a MAD Blog Award. The same applies, incidentally, to a film that wins an Oscar – they are voted on by a panel of 6,000 film fans and critics – not dissimilar to the 10,000 or so bloggers and blog readers who nominate and vote in the MAD Blog Awards!

    Thanks for the feedback and the post – great discussion!

    Sally
    The MAD Blog Awards

  10. Pingback: MADs Blog Awards. | Helloitsgemma's Blog

  11. I recommend reading the follow up blog on this topic and in particular the comments after the original blog, it’s very enlightening…..

    http://brinkofbedlam.co.uk/2011/04/18/response-to-madblogawards/

  12. I think the concomitant canvassing is rather demeaning. That said, as I find your posts laden with a delicate simplicity and breathtaking honestly where do I vote?

Leave a Reply

