For the love of Chocolate!


For the Love of Chocolate!

Chocolate, oh Chocolate, shall I compare thee to a summers day?

You see, I love chocolate, it has always been an obsession of mine.  When I was little, I couldn’t wait until Easter.  I remember my mum used to line our easter eggs up on top of the old mahogany dresser.  In my mind’s eye I can still see them, all bright spotty packaging and cartoon characters, with jewel coloured, silver paper enclosing my beloved easter eggs.  It’s a very fond, greedy childhood memory.

Eaten in an instant!

On Easter Sunday my sister and I would demolish them.  Never mind savouring each bite, I ate as much as I could as quickly as I could.  If feelings of sickness set in (which they rarely did) I’d just wait half an hour or so and then carry on.  Some were criss crossed with indented honeycombed patterns and in my less frenzied chocolate eating moments I’d try and snap the chocolate  neatly along the lines.  Absolutely none was wasted either, I’d lick the silver paper, and if any fell on the floor I’m ashamed to say I’d think nothing of picking it up, dusting the detritus away and eating it completely guilt free.  At least in that respect I’ve changed a little (well, a bit…).

Mine all mine!! (hides in cupboard)

I’ve always been fairly insatiable when it comes to my appetite for the lovely sweet cocoa bean.  You know those huge bars that say ‘Good to share!’ written on them, well, I tend to keep them for times when I’m on my own in the house.  I do genuinely try not to be selfish most of the time, but when it comes to chocolate, I can’t help it and if I’m being quite honest, I don’t care.  My chocolate binges don’t hurt anyone, I’m not overweight (well, maybe a little) and I consider it a treat.  I might have a million and one household chores to do, I might not have slept properly for weeks, I might have to go do a school run in the rain in 10 mins – but if I’ve got a bar of chocolate in my hands and 2 pieces in my mouth at once, I’m happy.

When the weather was really cold this last winter, I had to go to the dentist.  Laugh you may, but I bought myself an Aero for afterwards.  Aeros are a Nestle product, and I did try boycotting them, but I ran the risk of pining to death for the lack of them.  Stood shivering in the slush, with my coat wrapped tightly around me, I broke off  layers of the chocolatey peppermintyness.  I remember noticing how the bar made a lovely satisfying snapping sound, and realised it was because it was so unbelievably cold.  My Aero had reached an optimum near freezing temperature, and was all the better for the eating of it.  I’m probably due for another dentist appointment, can’t think why! (scratches head in mock bemusement).

It’s the little details like these that I love about chocolate, sliding a bar out of its paper envelope and stroking the silver paper over the chocolate so you can see the pattern through it for example.  The snap as I’ve said is important too, the mouth melting moment, and the ‘parting is such sweet sorrow’ sentiment when it’s all gone.  Chocolate is truly a passion of mine!

Healthy Supplies seem to have realised this!  They sent me an ‘Ombar’ to try which I thought was a very appropriate name as I ate it whilst going ‘Omnomomnom’.  If you’d like to see what I thought about it, it’ll be featured in my next blog.  It’s one of those sponsored post thingys, but the blog as always, will be completely honest and unbiased.  If I thought it was ‘orrible, I’d tell you. See Review for the Ombar! HERE!

3 responses to “For the love of Chocolate!

  1. As you know I’m a major chocoholic and I will put my hand up and admit that if I drop a piece I can’t resist picking it up and eating it!! I have attracted some very strange looks from other people but I just can’t help myself! In fact just reading about chocolate has made me crave the huge bar of galaxy that I know is hiding at the back of one of the kitchen cupboards…..and I’m not going to share with anyone!!

  2. I really wish I hadn’t read yor post…it’s 8.30 in the morning and I have an urge to drive to the nearest shop for an aero…mmmm nom nom nom 🙂

  3. Oh I totally agree! I am a chocoholic too! I just ADORE it!

Leave a Reply

