A Resting Place


A Resting Place

What we leave behind….

 

Someone I used to know seems to have turned into a wooden bench, I really don’t know how I feel about it to absolutely honest.  It’s like someone’s cast a spell on the poor man and with a flick of a wand he’s become a couple of pieces of wood and some stone. Maybe I read too many fairy tales.

You see, the other day I was happily ambling through the park, whilst Sausage and Darlek climbed on the big stones scattered around on the grass  – when I stopped dead in my tracks and stared.  A bench had appeared, with a plaque on it saying ‘David Rose, in remembrance, Love & Light’.

David was someone I often saw at community meetings, and behind the bar at the local pub every now and then.  He was about 50 I think, and had a face that looked young despite his years.  I was always embarrased when I saw him because I could never remember his grandson’s name, even though he always talked about him, and we would exchange random bits of information about how our respective children/grandchildren were doing.  In all truth, I didn’t know the man very well and we spoke rarely, but what I do know is that he was very public spirited, was a driving force when it came to getting things done in the area and that he had a smile for everyone as far as I could see.  His health had declined and he became ill whilst driving back from a friends house on New Years Day I think (although I’m not completely sure of the details).

He died about a year ago, and although I had the usual sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach and felt very sorry for his close friends and family when I heard the news, I hadn’t really thought about him since.  This bench suddenly and very profoundly reminded me of him again, and of the fragility of life.  The kids carried on running around, but I stood there for a minute staring at the bench, feeling the drizzle on my skin, the slippery turf beneath my feet and listened to the magpies chattering away in the trees nearby – I felt cold, and very unnerved.  How can a whole life of doing things, of being with people, of talking, laughing, living end like this.  A lone wooden bench.

I know I’ll feel a bit funny about sitting on that seat too.   I mean, it’s rude to sit on someone’s knee if you don’t know them very well isn’t it?  So, there you have it.  A life lived, a bench left behind.  Doesn’t seem right somehow.

Considering the news recently, I think mortality has been on my mind rather more than usual.  RIP Dave Rose, and RIP all those poor souls who died in Japan over the weekend.  May they rest in peace, and for those of us who remain, I hope we continue to live in ‘Love and Light’ for as long as we possibly can.


6 responses to “A Resting Place

  1. Pls forgive the cropped photo, I have absolutely no idea why WordPress has decided to muck up the border :O( Grrrr and double Grrrr…

  2. wow Kay You have made me think!!

  3. I’m trying to think of something to say, and failing.

    Sometimes all we can do is stop and remember.

    Beautifully written post. You’re so right, it does seem odd that a whole life can be expressed in something as mundane as a bench.

    But better he has a memorial than nothing at all, at least it shows he was loved and respected in the community.

    As for the terrible events in Japan, well, there are just no words are there.

    x

  4. mitch1066@gmail.com

    I wish they offered benches here,so much more useful than an expensive stone in the midst of a sea of stones that few get to see.Id rather be remembered on a bench offering a resting place for all who walk through enjoying the park.A place to sit and enjoy nature.

  5. This post has really touched me tonight, maybe because I’ve been dwelling on mortality a little too much recently. We muddle along, taking every day for granted, and then we’re suddenly pulled up sharp by things like this.

    When I think about someone, and wonder how a whole life can have suddenly gone, I have to remind myself that the act of remembering connects that person’s life to the present. You saw that bench and thought of David, and the positive things he did in his life; how many other people will see it and do the same? So the things he did are still rippling out into other people’s lives , even now.

    Anyway, that’s how I try and make sense of those moments ….. thanks for making me reflect.

  6. Beautifully written. I too have been thinking about mortality, I think with recent events, it has been on alot of peoples minds.
    I love Daves bench, I think it’s especially apt for it to be part of the community, with him doing so much for the community. Amanda x

Leave a Reply

