#FishyDishyCookery Fishy Business!


FishyDishyCookery Fishy Business!

Well, I have to say I’ve been overawed with the support I’ve had in regards to my mad cookery plan.  I’ve had lots of comments, funny, kind and helpful.  To be absolutely honest I am now feeling the pressure slightly.  I did wonder if I should cook one of these, as it seems I should cook something dramatic considering all the build up.

Very Big Fish - might not fit in dishwasher though..

Problem is getting hold of one of these might be difficult, and I don’t think I’d ever get enough tin foil together to wrap it successfully.

Anyway, I am pleased to announce that I have secured a more normal fish from a more traditional source, the Amazon was too far away and I’d have struggled to fit the above fish in my suitcase, let alone my dishwasher.

Wellgate Fisheries are Flipping Fantastic!

Wellgate Fisheries from Clitheroe have agreed to send a fish my way!  I have yet to contact the owner as he’s obviously busy on fishy business (meaning he’s busy dealing with fish, not that he’s a minor criminal or anything), but I’ll be ringing him later on today to arrange delivery of a fantastic fishy for my Dishwashered Fishy charity stunt event for the RNLI.  How generous is that?!!  I am so very grateful to them, and highly recommend bobbing over to their lovely website to have a gander at them, they deliver throughout the north of england, so if you’re in the vicinity – maybe amble over to their shop or even go so far as to order your own fishy.  It’s entirely up to you how you cook it though….  Here is their web address if you’d like to visit the very generous, wonderful (I’m gushing like I’ve won an Oscar now), fantastic Wellgate Fisheries.

So far I have raised £45 in about 24 hours, had mentions on Capital FM radio and @JanesGrapevine had a casual conversation with Christine Hamilton on Twitter about the whole issue of dishwasher cookery prompted by this blog which was a little surreal to say the least – so this RNLI charity stunt is being talked about and will hopefully continue to be promoted and donated to (nudge, nudge) until next Saturday when I finally intend to do the FishyDishyCookery.

If you’d like to donate, please do visit http://www.justgiving.com/kay-wilkinson where all monies are passed directly to the RNLI.  We’re over 50% of the way there already!  If you could spare even just £5 it would be so appreciated. Thank you. x

Please do have a look at the RNLI’s website (http://www.rnli.org.uk/) and see what this is really all about.  Funny blogs and silly cookery tasks aside, these men risk their lives for others and this is a charity well worth supporting – especially considering the recent issues with cuts to invaluable CoastGuard services.  Here is a link to a petition if you would like to show your support for the latter:  http://www.petitiononline.com/ukcghq/petition.html

So there we have it, Fishy Business in progress. We have a fish thanks to Wellgate Fisheries, I have a dishwasher and a mad plan….so here goes nothing.  (Well, to be truthful, really I should say, here goes the warranty on my dishwasher….)

If this is the first time you’ve visited this blog, pls do have a nosey around.  I’m quite normal most of the time, honest…

The background to this Fishy stunt can be found here: http://brinkofbedlam.co.uk/2011/02/02/fishydishycookery/ If you follow the links back you’ll find out how it all started :O)

Oh, and if you like the blog please do click on the ‘SIGN ME UP’ button so you can continue to journey along with me On The Brink of Bedlam Blog.  It’s nice here, and normal most days, honest.  :O)

3 responses to “#FishyDishyCookery Fishy Business!

  1. So, it’s full Bream ahead, no Clownfishing around for you now Ray, oops Kay, now will it be a Rainbow Troutastic result or is there a Swampfish in the offLing!

    Lets make a Topminnow of Kay and raise lots for the RNLI

  2. Pingback: #FishyDishyCookery Fishy Business! (via brinkofbedlam) | MibsBlog

  3. Pingback: Fishy Friday! « brinkofbedlam

Leave a Reply

