Happy Christmas Homebase! 3


Happy Christmas Homebase 3

By way of an update.

Plain old customer services responded to my query faster than the manager – they said:

Dear Mrs Wilkinson,

Subject:Order number *******

Thank you for your e-mail regarding the kitchen that you had installed by Homebase.

I was very sorry to learn of the circumstances described and would like to apologise on behalf of Homebase for the disappointment and inconvenience caused.

I have forwarded your email to the relevant department to look into the issue for you.  You will be contacted shortly to discuss this matter.

Should you require any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us at info@homebase.co.uk or call us on 0845 077 8888.

Regards,

I replied and asked them to reply via email because I had flu and two young children to look after and wanted to reply at my convenience, I stated categorically that I did not want to be contacted by phone – so someone rang me.  They have arranged to install the hob between Xmas and the new year, although a date and time was still to be arranged.

I replied via email that the hob was just the tip of the iceberg and what were they going to do in regards to the poor quality kitchen and the inconvenience we have been through as a result – this time I got the very curt reply:

Good morning Mrs Wilkinson

Thank you for you email
I was very sorry to read you are still experiencing problems with your kitchen installation.  Since receiving your email I have spoken at length to our Regional Installations Manager **** ****.  He has advised he has been in contact with you regarding your new hob and this will now be fitted for you on Wednesday 29th December in the morning.    **** will keep in contact with you, if I can be of any further assistance please don’t hesitate to contact me.
kind regards

……..which is news to me!  I did not arrange a date or time for this hob to be put in, so they’ve booked a date and time without even consulting us.  I think we will be away at the in-laws by then.

I’ve replied with:

Dear *****,

Thank you for your reply, 

I suspect we will be out on the 29th December, this appointment has been arranged without my knowledge.  When I spoke to **** he said he could get the hob fitted between Christmas and the New Year and did not specify a date or time.
This still does not address the issues surrounding the quality of the kitchen that was supplied to us, and the inconvenience we’ve been through as a result.
regards
Kay Wilkinson

And the lovely lady has just this minute replied with:

Good morning Mrs Wilkinson

Thank you for your email
We can rearrange this day if you so wish can you  let me know which day is suitable and I will let **** know.
kind regards

So all in all, they have dug their heels in and seem to be refusing to even discuss the topic of compensation – or even to apologise in any manner that sounds even half like they mean it.

And the moral of this story is……..DON’T BUY A KITCHEN FROM HOMEBASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

If you know anyone who is considering buying one from them, please do refer them to this blog.  They don’t deserve the custom.  End of.

Leave a Reply

