Cabin Fever!


Cabin Fever!

Well, as I type, the weather forecast seems to be for more snow….  The kids are pleased and Darlek is desperately hoping for a white Christmas.  She’s been quite worried about Father Christmas’ sleigh, and asked me if he would still come even if it wasn’t snowy – apparently someone at school has told her that gravel and normal muddy ground isn’t a suitable landing pad for Father Christmas.  They said that it would scratch the bottom of his sleigh, so he wouldn’t come if we have a drizzly Christmas instead of a snowy Christmas.  I have reassured her that this is not true and that Santa will turn up on the 25th December even if he has to put wheels on the sleigh, so I think I’ve allayed her fears.  (Mind you, I have told her that Father Christmas might not come if she doesn’t have a tidy bedroom so she may be panicking over that instead now – naughty mum!)

The point I’m making is, I don’t want snow!  I already know Santa has an indestructible sleigh and that he will deliver presents come hail, high winds, snow, drizzle, hurricane, sunshine etc etc.  Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s pretty.  I just also think it’s a damn nuisance and that if it snows over Christmas we won’t be able to get out and see relatives, or go anywhere and will be stuck inside with two chocolate fuelled, Christmas hyped, bouncing off the walls, children.  Cabin fever will set in, and I may just have to go mad and mutter something about ‘I may be gone for some time….’ and walk out into the snow on my own never to return, until I’m hungry, cold or bored you understand….

Anyway, today’s blog topic is quite literally about Cabins.  Nice ones.  Log Cabins in Snowdonia in Wales in fact! If you’re going to get ‘Cabin Fever’ this is definitely the place to get it.  ‘Wales Log Cabins’ in Trawsfynydd have three separate Norwegian pine log cabins to choose from, ranging from 4 to 6 berths – all of which have PVC windows, are fully insulated, comfortably furnished and are the perfect location for an impromptu ‘get-away-from-it-all’ break.  If you are considering a winter break, these are a very snug, traditional alternative to a bed and breakfast or a tent (in this weather?!) – with the advantage of being in the midst of the beautiful surroundings of Snowdonia National Park.

Conveniently, they are also running a special 2010 offer for a midweek or a weekend break during December and January starting from £130 – last minute bookings are available, but I’d be quick if I were you!   ‘Wales Log Cabins’ have a very comprehensive website, filled with everything you could ever wish to know about the area – including where to go if you enjoy walking, fishing or biking. There’s even a section on the local history and musings on the Roman influence upon the countryside and inhabitants – well worth a read if you’re planning a visit to Snowdonia.

These are lovely, quaint log cabins set in a picturesque location, they’re well equipped, warm and family (and pet) friendly.  If you’re going to get snowed in and end up with Cabin Fever, I suggest packing up and heading off for Wales Log Cabins at Trawsfynydd to make the experience as pleasant as possible!

Snug as a Bug in a Rug

Stunning Scenery!

A nice location for Cabin Fever

2 responses to “Cabin Fever!

  1. Those cabins look wonderful! And I agree, I could do without the snow too 🙂

  2. Well, it’s been slushing today, so it’s not stuck at least – I bet I’ve jinxed myself writing this though. We’ll be a foot deep in snow drifts tomorrow, lol! :O)

Leave a Reply

