Mum, can I have some sweeties?


Mum, Can I Have Some Sweeties?

This line is enough to bring me to tears after a long trip around a supermarket with a demanding child.  It can be the last straw.  Saying no, can lead to the screaming heebie-jeebies and pointed looks from old grannies; or if you’re lucky, sympathetic grins from passersby who always seem to say ‘We’ve all been there!’ which is nice, but doesn’t help much.

I had a ‘do’ recently in Morrissons which nearly pushed me over the edge. Darlek was at school, so I thought it would be quite a calm shopping trip with only the one child to deal with, oh how wrong I was! Sausage spotted the sweets aisle and grabbed a packet of something or other and refused to put it down, it was dragged from his grasp and put back on the shelves – leading to floods of tears and rolling around on the floor.

I stood calmly watching the hysterics and waited for it to be over so I could continue shopping. These days I am almost beyond embarrassment so the ocassional funny looks weren’t bothering me much at that point. Problem was, the screaming and ranting wasn’t stopping, and I simply had to go and get on with things, the clock was ticking, my tummy was rumbling and I didn’t have the luxury of stropping time. He’s far too heavy to carry for any amount of time now, especially when he’s squirming about, so I just crouched down and explained to my sobbing child that I was going to do my shopping and he HAD to come with me. We had raisins at home, he could have some when we got back.

Raisins were not motivation enough, he wasn’t for coming, so I wandered around the corner of a nearby aisle and peeked between the shelves to see if he’d follow me, whilst hoping that a kindly citizen wouldn’t try and drag him over to Customer Services and declare him ‘Lost’. That’s the only problem with leaving a child (in sight of course) tantrumming on their own, people don’t ignore apparently abandoned, distressed children – which in most cases is a good thing, but it doesn’t half muck up a stand off with a toddler. You end up with a hysterical child who thinks they’re being kidnapped as well as abandoned, and a very annoyed adult who thinks you’re an irresponsible parent. It’s a win / win situation – not. I’ve been there!

Anyway, this time, it worked at least. He clambered up off the floor and ran round to me, he grabbed my legs in a bear hug, and then laid down on the floor again as I tried to set off on what was turning out to be the shopping expedition from hell. From then on I simply picked things off the shelves, cursed quietly under my breath, and limped around with Sausage wailing like the world was ending, whilst being dragged along the floor attached to my ankle – and pushing a trolley. Multi-tasking or what! People were staring at us, I just gritted my teeth and carried on. What else is there to do in a situation like that? One passerby suggested I roll around on the floor too and see if that shocked him into stopping. I was a midges whisker from doing just that. Nothing was working, not cajoling, not telling off, not comforting, absolutely nothing!

Most people were sympathetic, and either grinned, laughed and a few people commented that their kids used to do stuff like that too, which made me feel slightly better. It’s just that my son can be spectacularly determined, and he was showing off his talents big time! He wanted those sweets and he was going to make me suffer for the lack of them.

The whole episode lasted for about half an hour, by which time I was nearly in tears, Morrissons had a very clean floor and I had a very mucky, distraught child. It was awful. He’s never been that bad, before or since which is something I have to be thankful for at least. If you see a mum dealing with a child tantrumming like a little demon, please do smile sympathetically. It was a horrid situation, made slightly better because the other people in the supermarket were, in the majority, nice about it.

And just as an afterthought, although raisins are healthy and I try to look after my kids teeth as best I can – I have to admit that if I’d have had these at home to blackmail my son with I might have been more successful. Carol from Online Sweets sent these last week and I have to say they are lovely, although I cannot eat any more of them for a whle because my teeth hurt. This is no reflection on the sweets, more on the massive amount I’ve eaten in the last couple of days.

They are Haribo Giant Strawberries, one tub of which is ‘sour’. Sour flavoured stuff is excellent for giving to kids (every now and then, I hasten to add – I want my kids to have gnashers to be proud of) so that you can watch them pull funny faces. So far the sour flavoured ones seem to be the favourite with us, but I gave a couple to my parents and they grimaced loads and flatly refused to eat any more of them. I suspect it’s a matter of what you prefer. They did, however, eat quite a few of the plain Giant Strawberries.

These are massive tubs, and they’ll last us a long time (especially as I’ve nearly dissolved my teeth with eating so many). If, god forbid, I have any more horrendous ‘do’s such as the above, I’ll definitely be using these particular sweets as ammunition for good behaviour. Probably a dodgy parenting technique, but any port in a storm as they say!

If you’d like to buy these you can find them here – Online Sweets They come highly recommended!

4 responses to “Mum, can I have some sweeties?

  1. Oh my god, your experience takes me back to one of my sons, Ben, (who was fondly called Benace the Menace by all family members) he was 3 years old and we were in a supermarket and he did the same thing, picked up a bag of sweets, had them forcibly removed from him and then proceeded to have the tantrum from hell, I tried everything, hugging, shouting, laughing, bribing, I then walked off and he started lobbing cans off the shelves all over the shop floor, we were asked to leave by the manager after one of the cans struck a member of staff who was approaching to see what the problem was, oh the shame. He’s 24 years old now and the nicest young man you could ever wish to meet xx @jadlgw

  2. I feel your pain!!

    Beautifully written post that describes the everyday traumas of life with toddlers!

    I never, ever go shopping with my daughter without back-up for this very reason. I can’t handle it – the shame, the humiliation, the disapproving looks!

    Nice review of the sweets – I fancy some of those strawberries, I haven’t had those in years. You can keep the sour ones though :-0 xx

  3. I too had a similar episode with daughter ‘A’ when she was going through the terrible 2’s! Our little spat started outside the supermarket though with no sweets in sight – she just decided she ‘wasn’t going shopping’! She took off her coat, threw it on the car park and scuffed her brand new shoes up the kerb. Hubby was losing it and said take her back to the car – I was having none of it, she wasn’t going to win that easily! I dragged her by the hand into Tesco’s and had many of the strange and disgruntled looks you talked of as she screamed her way round the store in the trolley. Believe me it wouldn’t have paid any old dear to comment that day as i’d have jump on them like a flash. By the time we got to the drink section (quite appropriate!) she’d quitened down! She’s now 10 and I can honestly say that’s the biggest and worst tantrum she’s ever had (we do often remind her about it tho)! lol

  4. Well at least you didn’t give in! Frankly I’m the one most likely to throw a tantrum if I can’t have sweeties…

    Mine have always been OK with shopping – better that their Father to be honest!

    My youngest however used to be foul at picking up time in his first year at School but I am so NOT easily embarrassed. I used to march him off , holding his hand, walking as fast as possible (so he’d be running) after a couple of minutes he’d be too puffed out to cry and I’d say ‘ so you going to stop crying or shall we run ALL the way home’ That plus a star chart sorted THAT out within a week or two.

    Have you also heard the whispering trick – pick ’em up or crouch down and whisper really quietly, they have to shut up to hear you. This one works on my Nephew – bright and VERY determined!

Leave a Reply

