Halos N Horns Kid’s Hair & Body Wash Review!


Halos N Horns Kid’s Hair & Body Wash Review!

Bath wash

 

 
A while ago I reviewed Halo Wipes, and whilst in the process I mistakenly contacted Halos N Horns on Twitter and asked them for some images of wet wipes for the review. Halos N Horns were understandably confused as they do not make wet wipes and I was not doing a review for them – they very politely said they hadn’t got a clue about what I was on about. So I duly apologised, felt very silly and stopped hassling them for images they didn’t have. 
 

Despite me being a confused idiot, Halos N Horns then asked me if I’d like to review some of their products too. Not wanting to miss out on having a truly angelic blog, I said I’d love to. So, here we go! A review of ‘Halos n Horns Kids Bathtime Zingy Orange Hair & Body Wash for Little Devils’

This product proudly proclaims itself as ‘Dermapaedic,’ having never heard the word before I decided to look it up.  Strangely, there doesn’t seem to be such a word, although I’m presuming ‘Derma’ has something to do with skin, and ‘paed’ is a reference to children.  I can only presume they mean ‘good for children’s skin’ in this instance, but I am guessing.  The phrase is followed by ticks in the boxes for ‘kind to eyes’ and ‘hypoalllergenic’ which can never be a bad thing.

On the back of the packaging it also states that it is free from SLS – Phthalates – MIT – Parabens – Triclosan – Propylene glycol – SLES.   I’ve had to check the definitions of each of these, as they are obviously selling points according to Halos N Horns, and are considered important enough to mention.  Now I’m not a chemist or a scientist, so don’t take my word as gospel, I’d definitely advise you to do your own research too.

Pls bear with me while I get a bit technical!

Very briefly these are chemicals commonly found in the majority of soaps and toiletries on the market, in products designed for childen and adults alike. They have their uses, in that Sodium Lauryl Sulphate for example causes shampoo to froth; unfortunately this product also can cause skin irritation, aggravate allergies, trigger rashes and has long term effects that have not been fully researched at this time.  If you’d like to read further on the subject, have a nosey at this link.

Parabens are primarily used as preservatives; Wikipedia has this to say about them ‘They are becoming increasingly controversial, however, because they have been found in high concentrations in breast cancer tumours.’  Further information can be found here.

MIT (Methylisothiazolinone) – Again I raided Wikipedia and found this out, a quote states that some studies have shown MIT to be allergenic and cytoxic (toxic to cells), and this has led to some concern over its use’.  This is commonly added to cosmetics and other products.  Some claim that they are regulated so that they are always at a safe level, others would argue that it is impossible to regulate something where the full effects are not known.

Phtalates  – Yet another slice of info from Wikepedia:  ‘Body-care products containing phthalates are a source of exposure for infants. The authors of a 2008 study ‘observed that reported use of infant lotion, infant powder, and infant shampoo were associated with increased infant urine concentrations of [phthalate metabolites], and this association is strongest in younger infants.’  Phatalates are commonly used on the youngest in our society and the effects are similarly not fully recognised as yet.

Triclosan is an anti-bacterial and anti-fungal agent.  Quote from guess where…Wikipedia: ‘Triclosan safety is currently under review by the FDA.’  In the meantime we continue to use it on an every day basis.  Further info on this subject can be found here.
 
Propylene Glycol:  From what I gather, this particular chemical has an adverse effect upon aquatic life.  Quote from
Wikipedia: ‘Propylene glycol is known to exert high levels of biochemical oxygen demand (BOD) during degradation in surface waters. This process can adversely affect aquatic life by consuming oxygen aquatic organisms need to survive.’

And lastly we have SLES: Sodium Laureth Sulfate, this source says  ‘Although SLES is somewhat less irritating than Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, it cannot be metabolised by the liver and its effects are therefore much longer-lasting’.  ‘SLS and SLES are esters of Sulphuric acid – SLS is also known as "Sulfuric acid monododecyl ester sodium salt", however there are over 150 different names by which it is known – In fact, SLES is commonly contaminated with dioxane, a known carcinogen’.

What really shocked me was that after reading the above, I began looking through some of the ingredients in the shampoos and bath products I have lined up in my bathroom. They all contained some of these potentially harmful chemicals, even the one specifically sold as being suitable for babies from birth.

If you’re anything like me, you inwardly groan when you read information like this. Is anything safe? Is this just something else to be paranoid about? Surely, if everyone else uses products with these ingredients and they’re ok, what’s the problem?  I suppose the problem is that we don’t fully understand the long term effects of these chemicals as yet, and in the meantime we bath our babies and children with them.  I do wonder if in 50 years time we’ll all be reverting to good old soap and water and essential oils.  

Obviously if you have a child with sensetive skin this is certainly a subject to take seriously. Having suffered with painful eczema flare ups on my face and hands in the past, I’ve certainly taken this information on board. 

On a non chemical, ‘is it nice?’ angle, I’d highly recommend Halos N’ Horns.  It smells good, rather like those orange rubbery air fresheners some people use, and has a texture like honey.  It doesn’t froth much and seems less soapy than other bath washes I’ve used – but that’s probably because it doesn’t have the nasties in it that other bath washes have, so that’s not to the detriment of the product at all.

I would prefer it if it was in packaging that stood upright.  My kids are appalling at putting the tops back on stuff properly and this bath wash has the ‘Ooze factor’.   I struggled a bit with the instructions on the back that say you should only use a small amount too – whilst bathing the kids I seem to use loads.  It dissolves into the water quickly so it’s best applied when the skin is out of the water, or it washes off before it’s had a chance to clean.  I’ve used it a lot for hand-washing before meals, it seems ideal for that use, although a pump action dispenser would make it even more easy to use.

This product hasn’t been tested on animals, which is great to know too.  Definitely a product with a conscience!

All in all I’d definitely buy this product again, it’s lovely to see something on the market that is a genuinely good product for kids.  I’ve seen a lot of adverts on TV for products that are ‘recommended by mid-wives’ when I know full well midwives recommend soap and water, or even just water for babies baths in the first couple of months. Halos N Horns have even printed on the back that they don’t recommend using any skincare products on babies for the first month of life’ – they seem far more inline with the advice I’ve been given by mid-wives than the profit hungry companies who push us into using highly scented and to be frank, slightly worrying products on our children.

My only big criticism is the brand name.  ‘Halos N Horns’ sounds like a name someone would use on a massage oil sold in an Anne Summers shop.  It just implies hen parties to me.  Change your brand name, pleeeeaaase!

Halos N Horns logo     If you’d like to find out more about this product and others by Halos N Horns, pls click here!

One response to “Halos N Horns Kid’s Hair & Body Wash Review!

  1. Lol! I love your scatty approach to PRs :0)
    Nice review, I’ve heard lots about them but never tried them. I never thought that about the name until you said it – you’ll be dragging us all down to your level (she says after tweeting about a baby blanket today called a ‘fanny comforter’ lol).
    Anway, love it. PS is that your photo at the top? We have that wind-up dog :0)
    @missielizzieb

Leave a Reply

