‘Life – Extraordinary Animals, Extreme Behaviour’ by Martha Holmes and Michael Gunton


‘Life – Extraordinary Animals, Extreme Behaviour’ by Martha Holmes and Michael Gunton

WHSmith kindly sent me a copy of this book to review – and before I go any further I just want to say thank you to them for their generosity. I submitted a review on their site earlier this week and I’ll include a link at the end of this post if anyone is thinking of investing in this visually stunning and brilliantly written book.

For a nature lover such as myself, this book is an absolute joy to read and to look at. It dropped through my letterbox a couple of months ago and I was genuinely excited to receive it and rip it out of its jiffy bag.

I distracted the kids by passing them the bubble wrap that the book had been wrapped in, and bobbed Cbeebies on pretty swiftly. Cup of tea in hand, I sat and marveled at the quality of the photographs, dipping through the book at random points. As a coffee table kind of book, I’d say it’s quite unparalleled. The book is stuffed full of fantastic photographs, and it’s something that is easy to pick up and casually read if something grabs your attention.

If I’m being honest, I do own similar books, but often find that they’re fairly difficult to read. Loads of facts and figures on environmental statistics and excessive descriptions of habitats and behaviours can be…well…a bit boring after a while. This book, on the other hand, is fascinating.

Martha Holmes and Michael Gunton have written in a very informative and entertaining manner. The book is sectioned off into chapters outlining particular behaviours present in animals and plants on land and in the sea – with photographs perfectly illustrating the text. They write with enthusiasm and great insight, and with a style that neatly combines fact with narrative. You really do feel like you’re reading about the story of ‘Life’ and how it started and progressed to the present day as we see it now.

Without any reserve at all, I can confidently say, this is a 10 /10 for anyone interested in the natural world. Personally, I’ll treasure my copy. :O)

Link to the book on WHSmith’s website: http://www.whsmith.co.uk/CatalogAndSearch/ProductDetails.aspx?productID=34032459

Leave a Reply

